Daniel, Charles F.
The First Presbyter
of Gastonia, N.C.
Qy c Uhe Si*
Tirst Presbyterian Chureh
of Gastonia, ~N. C.
CHARLES F. DANIEL
»r • G
•H X •
fa -P >
X <4h -M
O C '!)
The ensuing pages might well be called the "First Addition" to the
comprehensive and exhaustive history of the First Presbyterian Church
of Gastonia, N. C, as compiled in 1948 by the late Hugh A. Query, an
elder and clerk of the session.
This "addition" endeavors to depict the major work of the congrega-
tion between that period and midyear of 1961. Space limitations,
naturally, limit many details of the devoted and unselfish work done by
various members of the congregation, but major accomplishments have
been outlined in an effort to bring before the congregation outstanding
accomplishments of the past dozen or more years.
Personal references have been made in a few cases primarily as
examples of the services rendered throughout the years and of the sted-
fast devotion to the church and its causes by families now represented
by the third, and in some cases, fourth generations. To all who have
labored faithfully and in a consecrated manner, the church is deeply
indebted and to them is due much credit for the successful activities
throughout the years.
The compilation of this record was made primarily by Charles F.
Daniel, an elder in the church and member since 1944, at the request of
the Memorials committee. Mr. Daniel has done extensive research of
church records, has made lots of personal interviews, and reminiscences
have also had a part in this writing. The Memorials committee hereby
expresses its deep gratitude to Mr. Daniel for his faithful and zealous
efforts in making possible this "first addition" to the Church's history.
The committee extends its thanks also to all others who have
cooperated generously and hopes that this record will be an inspiration
to greater achievements in the work of the church.
Brice T. Dickson, Chairman
Mrs. Fred L. Smyre, Sr.
Mrs. John C. Mason, Jr.
Harry S. Cobb
L. J. Shive
"AN ADVENTURE IN FAITH"
"An Adventure in Faith" .... the planning, constructing and
occupying of a magnificent, modern church plant in a new site, was the
major accomplishment of the First Presbyterian Church during the
12-year period from 1949 to 1961.
Such an appellation has been given the mammoth project by Dr.
Harry M. Moffett, pastor.
"It was truly an adventure in faith," he remarked informally to
officers one evening. "We started our program with no fixed goal,
but to expand our program and work for greater witness to God. It
seems that at each step of the project, from the earliest studies to ful-
fillment, we have been led by faith and now have accomplished deeds
that were never dreamed of at the beginning."
"One or two hundred years from now families will be still
worshipping in our new church. Few may recall who the preachers and
people were who built it," he later said; "but this they will not be
able to forget: that in the middle years of the twentieth century, when
all the world was in turmoil with suspicion and threat, there were still
people who had faith in God and in the future — faith great enough to
build a great church. Our new church will be our witness for generations
In other comments on the project, he said:
"We will have much more than a new building and grounds. We
will have a joy, a unity and a spiritual enrichment beyond anything
we can now foresee There awaits us a new life of worship, a
new experience of joyful service and a new fruitfulness in our witness."
The church plant, which sets new standards in worshipful and
functional architecture, was actually started on April 10, 1960, when
groundbreaking ceremonies were held at the 12-acre wooded site on
Kendrick Drive or Seventh street extension at the southeastern edge of
the city. Progress has been steady and the target date for moving to
the new plant is September 15, 1961. Completion of the sanctuary and
chapel will require a few months additional work, but services will be
held in the fellowship hall at present and all departments of the
Sunday school and other features will be ready for early use.
The $1,500,000.00 plant represents the newest designs in architec-
ture. The contour of the land lent itself readily to a split-level type of
construction. The street level shows only the sanctuary, chapel and
front line of offices. The lower levels depict two-story Sunday school
rooms, and other facilities, while the fellowship hall at the rear affords
accommodations for serving over 400 persons at a meal. Kitchen and
dining facilities are also on the lower ground levels.
The church is designed and equipped to adequately care for a
congregation of 2,000 or more and is erected to stand for centuries. It
is a complete unit and is not designed for additions or expansions, it
being the idea that when the facilities become cramped, the formation
of new congregations will be an imperative need.
Constructed of concrete and steel, faced with Tennessee quartzite
and pre-formed concrete, the solid structure will require small main-
tenance and throughout the years to come will serve well the many
requirements of a large and active congregation.
The sanctuary is planned to seat one thousand persons. Two huge
chipped glass windows frame the raised pulpit, while the gallery at the
rear will contain the choir and organ. Beneath the structure are dressing
cr robe rooms for the choir and spiral staircases lead to the sanctuary
or pulpit area and on to the gallery. Storage and record rooms are
also on the lower level.
The entire plant has been fitted with the most modern means of
heating as well as air conditioning and will be comfortable at any season
of the year.
The chapel, to seat 200, will be used for small gatherings. It will
also be handsomely furnished, has a covered driveway at the side and
will afford convenient access for various affairs.
The "Adventure in Faith" had a rather inconspicuous beginning
in October 1953 when officers of the church, at a joint meeting,
designated their executive committees and the outgoing and incoming
presidents of the Women of the Church, to serve as a committee on
long-range planning. It was instructed to study: 1 — the advisability of
the congregation remaining at the present location or moving to a new
site; 2 — colonization and area of city to be considered; 3 — improvements
to present plant in view of long-range programs.
A month later, plans were started towards steps to bring the
present plant to adequate efficiency and size; and also, discussions were
started looking towards colonization in outlying areas.
Throughout much of the following year, these topics were informally
discussed with much study given to the matters ahead. Generally un-
known to the congregation, committees tramped various sites about
the city on Sunday afternoons and at other times with the idea of
finding suitable locations for another church.
On November 3, 1954, D. R. La.Far, of the Planning and Development
committee, reported that a long-term option had been obtained on a
12-acre tract on Kendrick Drive from the Ratchford heirs. The price
would be about $36,000.00 for the rolling and wooded area, and was
considered a.s a suitable site for future expansion, he reported.
At a joint meeting of deacons and elders on November 14, 1954, it
was decided that no more money be spent on the present plant for
permanent improvements, but that plans for possible expansion should
be studied thoroughly.
On February 20, 1955, the congregation voted to exercise the
option on the Ratchford property. After the matter had been presented
in detail, a secret ballot was taken with 227 voting to exercise the
option, 66 against. Purchase of the property was authorized, with the
money to be raised by subscriptions from the congregation.
R. A. Dickson, chairman of the committee, reported on July 10,
1955, that 10.95 acres at a cost of $32,580.00 had been acquired from
Eatchford heirs. On August 11, 1957, the congregation approved the
purchase of 0.49 acre of land from Mrs. J. C. Owen for $1,500.00 to
Mr. Dickson further reported to the church officers tha.t most of
the funds for the new property had been contributed and the Diaconate
was authorized to pay off the balance. The officers further authorized
the selection of a committee of 15 members, five each from the session,
the Diaconate and the Women of the Church, to consider the entire
matter of a positive building program for the church.
With a new site in hand, the "Adventure" moved forward rather
swiftly. A congregational meeting on September 9, 1956, elected a
committee to study a positive building program, "either expansion
and/ or extension, for our church" and authorized that a building fund
be set up to receive contributions to be used for future plans "as
The committee was composed of the following:
Elders — M. R. Adams, Ralph A. Dickson, Ralph H. Falls, Robert A.
Gordon, D. R. LaFar, Jr., Ralph S. Robinson, Wm. R. Sparrow.
Deacons — James Boyce Garland, Chas. I. Loftin, Jr., Wm. D. Lawson,
III, Dr. William Patrick, C. K. Torrence, Sr.
Women of the Church — Mrs. Joe L. Barnett, Mrs. Harry Cobb, Miss
Elizabeth Matthews, Mrs. J. N. Summerell, Mrs. Charles A. Wetzell.
The "Adventure. . ." began to take more definite form in 1957 as
the congregation fervently debated the issue of remodeling its current
plant and, also of establishing a new congregation on the recently
acquired site. An intensive survey of the city was made by professional
groups and by leaders from the church's mission boards tending to show
the position of the church, present and indicated future congregation;
the trend of Presbyterian families and prospects for the church of the
Parking problems, the encroachment of business upon the present
church property, problems of expansion on the site now accupied and
population growth of this area were among other items considered.
The results were given to the congregation at a series of dinner
meetings. Leaders, by use of maps and symbols, explained that both
present and long-range future centers of population of Presbyterian
families focused upon the Ratchford property; that residential building
and population growth were rapidly expanding in that area; that ample
parking space and room for any planned facility existed; and that the
coming years indicated a diminishing value and usage of current
As might be expected, opposition developed, especially from some
of the older members. The matter was debated rather hotly for some
weeks, but at a congregational meeting April 7, 1957, R. A. Dickson
presented the planning committee's recommendation that the church
move from its present site to the Kendrick Drive property rather than
colonize or develop other plans. The new property was declared the
best location for the church of the future and for a long period of
years to come. He moved that the report be adopted.
J. W. Timberlake seconded the motion and after some discussion, a
written ballot was taken with the following results: 410 favored the
move; 114 voted against the move.
On April 14, 1957, a joint meeting of the Elders and Deacons
heard a recommendation of the session that a Steering committee of
eight officers, four from each body, be elected to follow up action of
April 7. The group approved the recommendation and added the clerk
of the session and secretary of the board of deacons to the group. By
ballot, the following were chosen:
Elders — F. L. Smyre, Jr., D. R. LaFar, Jr., Ralph A. Dickson and
M. R. Adams, Fred A. Ratchford, clerk, was added.
Deacons — John M. Akers, L. G. Alexander, W. B. Garrison and A. S.
Robinson; Bynum Carter, secretary, was added.
D. R. LaFar, Jr., was elected general chairman by the committee
The church officers heard various recommendations from Chairman
LaFar and the Steering committee on May 12, 1957 and approved them
in entirety. These included:
1. That the Steering committee be charged with the responsibility
for implementing and completing the toal building program by coordi-
nating the work and decisions of all committees.
2. That the Steering Committee appoint from the congregation,
subject to the approval of the session, the personnel of all committees.
3. That the congregation and officers be kept fully informed of
progress at all times.
4. That any vacancies on the committee be filled by secret ballot
of the church officers in joint session.
5. That the Steering Committee be permanent.
An outline of various committees and their duties was presented.
The church officers voted that the Steering Committee be instructed
to place at least one of its members on each of the main committees.
On June 23, 1957, the session approved the following committee
appointments for the new church:
STEERING COMMITTEE— D. R. LaFar, chairman, M. R. Adams,
R. A. Dickson, Fred A. Ratchford, Secretary; Fred L. Smyre, Jr., John
Akers, L. G. Alexander, Bynum Carter, W. B. Garrison, A. S. Robinson,
Treasurer Building Fund.
FINANCE COMMITTEE— Fred L. Smyre, chairman, John Akers,
Joe L. Barnett, W. B. Garrison, Dan LaFar, Charles I. Loftin, T. Craig
PROPERTIES COMMITTEE (Old and New)— Ralph S. Robinson,
chairman; Caldwell Ragan, Charlton K. Torrence.
BUILDING COMMITTEE— Ralph Falls, chairman, Mrs. M. R.
Adams, Leon G. Alexander, Ralph A. Dickson, W. D. Lawson, III, Mrs.
J. H. Matthews, Mrs. J. N. Summerell.
A. WORSHIP — Ralph A. Dickson, chairman; Mrs. J. N. Summerell,
vice chairman; Harry Cobb, Paul Kincaid, Dr. W. M. Patrick, Mrs.
Walter Rhyne, Mrs. Ralph Robinson.
B. EDUCATION— W. D. Lawson, III, chairman; M. R. Adams,
advisor; Bynum Carter, Mrs. James Ormand, Fred Waters, Mrs. W. L.
Wetzell, Jr., Mrs. T. L. Wilson.
C. FELLOWSHIP & SERVICE— W. R. Sparrow, chairman; Leon
Alexander, advisor; Mrs. Margaret Beam, James E. Cashatt, Harry
Mann, Mrs. J. H. Matthews, Mrs. Hugh Query.
Mr. Harold E. Wagoner of Philadelphia, Pa., nationally renowned
as a church architect, was employed to draw plans for the new plant, it
was announced by Ralph H. Falls, chairman of the Building committee,
on August 11, 1957.
With the "Adventure" in full swing and with a growing enthusiasm
shown by the congregation, plans for a financial campaign were approv-
ed in October.
W. B. Garrison and Fred L. Smyre, Jr., co-chairmen of the Finance
committee, announced that a professional agency, Ketchum, Inc., of
Pittsburg, Pa., would conduct the campaign and that Mr. Marshall
Thompson, director, would be in charge. A goal of $800,000.00 over a
three-year tax period, had been established.
The campaign was held from October 28 through December 22, with
actual solicitation of funds extending over three weeks prior to the
closing date. During the early periods, members attended meetings,
canvassing teams were organized and instructed, and then the real work
The result: Pledges and contributions of $828,000.00. Early in 1961
it was reported that approximately $750,000.00 had been paid in, and a
large portion of the balance was considered collectible.
The program then moved forward with the guidance of the Almighty
earnestly sought on many occasions. Committees met and planned,
they visited other churches in this area, they studied church programs,
buildings and facilities and every effort was made to move forward in
full faith that the new plant would adequately serve its purpose for
many, many years to come.
On January 19, 1958, the session approved a Memorials committee
to be added to the Steering committee, and named B. T. Dickson as
chairman. Other members are: Mrs. Fred L. Smyre, Sr., Mrs. John C.
Mason, Jr., Harry S. Cobb and L. J. Shive.
The committee established a plan whereby members would be
enabled to dedicate elements in the new church "to the Glory of God"
and "to honor those who have been a part of our Church's great tradition
and those living persons whom we love and respect. . . . By perpetuating
a record of unselfish and Christian giving, we set an example for
generations still to come."
Certain values were placed upon elements in the new church and
many of these, representing large contributions, have been claimed.
Designation of a memorial or tribute is entered by the donor in his own
handwriting with black indelible ink in the "Book of Remembrance."
Each entry has its own page. One copy of the book will be displayed at
the entrance of the sanctuary while an identical copy will be available
at or near the administrative offices.
With Architect Wagoner preparing plans, the question of the
traditional Colonial type of church or modern, functional design, was
The architect submitted sketches showing the functional design
and the congregation, by secret ballot on February 8, 1959 approved
this recommendation with the following result: 325 for; 115 against.
With a 73.8 per cent majority favoring the new design, the Steering
committee was empowered to proceed with building plans.
R. H. Pinnix, prominent contractor of Gastonia, was employed in
June of 1959 to assist with the building plans regarding selection of
materials and supplies, and for other guidance and advice.
In February 1960, upon petition of the church, the city annexed
the new church property, thus giving the congregation benefit of
water, sewer and utilities and other city services.
Planning on the new church reached a climax in early 1960 as the
architect drew near the completion of his work. R. H. Pinnix was re-
tained as general contractor for the church and R. L. Leviner was his
happy choice of superintendent of building. The total plant of 67,000
square feet was estimated to cost $1,200,000. However, some additions
and enlargements before actual construction began caused increased
costs. Furnishings and landscaping also called for additional money.
On a bright, windy, cold Sunday, April 10, 1960, ground breaking
ceremonies were held at 11:30 o'clock. Dr. J. N. Brown, associate pastor,
led in the prayer of dedication, Mrs. Ralph Armstrong played the piano
mounted atop a truck, Mrs. Edith Warren led the huge crowd in singing
appropriate hymns, after which the first spadeful of dirt was turned by
Mr. LaFar. He was followed by Mr. Falls, then by Dr. Brown. A message
from Dr. Moffett, then on a church mission to the African Congo, was
read by Dr. Brown and the actual building of the new structure was
underway the following morning.
Work on the church progressed rather slowly at first because of
considerable grading that had to be done. In addition, delays were ex-
perienced in constructing foundations because of sub-structural difficul-
ties not anticipated. However, these and other troublesome matters were
overcome in due time and soon the walls began rising and the building
took visible form.
The first church event at the new plant was held on Mother's Day,
May 14, 1961, under auspices of the Family Life committee of the
Christian Education group. A covered dish supper was held in the
partly completed fellowship hall. Families gathered in the later after-
noon to visit the new building after which supper was served. Dr.
Moffett led a short service of song and fellowship.
A church picnic was also held at the new plant on June 7, 1961
when the congregation gathered in the fellowship hall for a short service
led by Dr. Moffett, then spread dinner picnic-style. Tours of the plant
followed and many saw for the first time the progress that had been
The spire reaches 165 feet into the clouds and because of the high
eminence on which the church is built, may be seen from miles around.
Mounted on a tower 90 feet above the ground, the steeple is large at
the bottom and narrows to the top and has a 10-foot aluminum cross at
The steeple has a steel frame support, its interior is made of treated
wood covered with lead-coated copper. It was raised August 16, 1961,
before a large crowd of spectators.
On the front of the church are three large interlocking circles
denoting the Holy Trinity.
A circular driveway will lead from street level to the front of
the sanctuary, the church offices and the chapel. All other portions of
the church and fellowship hall may be reached by vehicular traffic.
Covered corridors and stairs will enable a person to go from any part of
the building to another without setting foot on the ground.
Around the building are ample paved parking spaces. Landscape
artists are busy with their work and soon, the abundance of shrubs,
plants and flowers will add a mellowing touch to the area.
In 1959, the church sold the uptown property to the City of Gastonia
for $240,000.00. The city soon graded about a third of the property to
street level for metered parking services. After the removal of the
congregation, the church property will be leveled and the entire area
will be converted into parking facilities or used for such other purposes
as the city desires.
Because of increased costs in building in the past few years and a
more elaborate structure than originally planned, the congregation
conducted another successful financial campaign about midsummer in
1961. A goal of $500,000.00 was practically subscribed and the leaders
feel that within a few years, the entire church debt will be paid off and
formal dedication may be held.
The new church is the third for the congregation which was
organized in 1882 with 22 members. The first was a small brick
structure 35 x 50 feet on Long Avenue, with seating capacity of 400
and was built in 1883.
The second was the present structure in the 100 block of South
Marietta street at the corner of Franklin avenue. It was built in 1895
at cost of approximately $15,000.00. It had a tower 110% feet high,
was constructed of red pressed brick made in Washington, D. C, with
brownstone trimmings and slate roof.
Now the "Adventure in Faith" is reaching its climax. This third
building, the "Cathedral" church in the Presbytery — because it furnishes
offices for the work and because of its dignity, beauty and spacious-
ness — is destined to be of everlasting service to the Glory of God.
Well might the congregation say with John Ruskin, in his "Lamp
"Therefore, when we build, let us think that we build forever. Let
it not be for present delight, not for present use alone. Let it be
such work as our descendants will thank us for, and let us think as we
lay stone on stone that a time is come when these stones will be held
sacred because our hands have touched them and that men will say
as they look upon the labor and wrought substance of them, 'See! This
our fathers did for us'."
Or with Samuel, they say, as he placed the stone Ebenezer:
"Hitherto hath the Lord helped us."
The present conregation has 1,300 members with an annual budget
of approximately $115,000.00. However, several families of large means
make substantial contributions annually to favorite projects, such as
world and home missions, Barium Springs orphanage and other worthy
causes, so that total contributions far exceed the budgeted sums.
DR. MOFFETT CALLED
Dr. Harry M. Moffett, Jr., pastor of the University Presbyterian
Church at Austin, Texas., for seven years prior, was extended a call to
become pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Gastonia in
The call was extended by Hugh A. Query, chairman, and Robert A.
Gordon, co-chairman, both Elders; John M. Akers, chairman of the
Board of Deacons; and Mrs. O. D. Boyce, president of the Women of
the Church, as representatives of the pulpit committee.
A congregational meeting was held March 2, 1952, with Dr. W. W.
Akers, retired Presbyterian minister, as moderator. Chairman Query
presented the name of Dr. Moffett, and he was unanimously chosen as
pastor by a rising vote of the congregation.
The call was accepted, and Dr. Moffett and family, consisting of
wife, daughter, son and small daughter, arrived a few weeks later to
begin work here. Dr. Moffett preached his first sermon to the con-
gregation on April 6, 1952.
Dr. Moffett is a native of Virginia, son and grandson of ministers
of the Southern Presbyterian church, a nephew of five missionaries in
the foreign mission fields, graduate of Davidson College and schoolmate
of a number of members of this church. A graduate of Union Theological
Seminary, he has had advanced studies there and has done considerable
work at other symposiums and conferences. He served pastorates at
Jefferson City, Tenn., Liberty and Columbus, Mo., before going to Texas.
His wife is the former Margaret Yarbrough of Memphis, Tenn., a
graduate of the Assembly Training School. The children are: Margaret,
Harry, Jr., and Ann Stewart.
DR. BROWN ASSOCIATE MINISTER
On October 14, 1954, Dr. James N. Brown, a native Mississippian,
came to the church from Baton Rouge, La., as associate pastor. He had
recently terminated a ministry of over 20 years at Gulfport, Miss., where
he had done an outstanding' work.
Dr. Brown graduated at the University of Mississippi, the Louisville
Theological Seminary, and did further graduate work at the New York
Biblical Seminary, the Chicago Theological Seminary, and the Divinity
School at the University of Chicago.
His wife is the former Louise Gardner and they have two daughters:
Elizabeth Ann (Mrs. Charles Voss) and Margaret Louise.
In addition to preaching frequently, Dr. Brown has rendered in-
valuable services in meeting newcomers, in home and hospital visitations,
in bringing messages to many churches in this area which are without
regular pastors, and ha.s been particularly helpful in carrying forward
the mammoth program of our own church.
The rotation system for Deacons was adpoted in 1934 when ten
members were elected each year for three-year terms. Nominations
and elections were by written ballots of the congregation at large and
a member was required to remain off the board for at least one year
before becoming eligible for reelection.
However, Elders were named for indefinite terms, considered for
life, in accordance with old customs in the church.
On December 11, 1949, the following Elders were elected: J. E.
Brison, W. A. Daniel, R. A. Dickson, J. R. McGerrigle, Clarke Starnes
and Fred M. Waters.
On November 1, 1953, other Elders were named: M. R. Adams,
Haxry S. Cobb, David Gillespie, Paul P. Kincaid, Fred M. Moss, Fred A.
Ratchford, Ralph S. Robinson, W. R. Sparrow, Fred L. Smyre, Jr., and
W. L. Wetzell, Jr.
However, with the growing demands of the church and need for
additional leaders, the session on April 20, 1958 authorized a committee
to study the matter of rotation of Elders. Ralph S. Robinson was
appointed chairman and the committee reported to the Session on
August 25, 1958, that the following plan had been recommended:
1. Elders to serve six years, with two years off before being
eligible for reelection; that election be held every two years to name
one-third of Session of 30 members.
2. Elders now 70 years of age or older continue to serve actively for
life or as long as members of this church; that all other elders be
governed by the rotary system.
3. Recommended that Deacons consider their term of office for six
years, with two years off before being eligible for reelection.
4. New plans to go into effect January 1, 1959.
At a congregational meeting October 12, 1958, hearty approval was
given to the proposed plans and it was also voted that a nominating
committee be named to recommend new Elders and Deacons. This
committee is to be composed of: two Elders, two Deacons, two from the
Women of the Church and four from the congregation at large. Addi-
tional nominations would be eligible from the floor, and a written or
secret ballot would be used in electing officers.
It was also voted that the present 1960 class of Deacons be extended
one year; the present class of 1961 be extended for two years and a new
class of 15 be elected for six years and designated as class of 1965.
On November 23, 1958, a congregational meeting heard a report
from W. A. Daniel, chairman of the nominating committee and
unanimously elected the following:
Elders, class of 1965: John C. Peden, Charles F. Daniel, Caldwell
Ragan, Sr., L. G. Alexander, James B. Garland, John A. Wilkins, W. D.
Lawson, III, Alfred S. Robinson, J. Bynum Carter and M. T. Cameron.
Deacons, class of 1965: Dr. Randolph Carothers, Dr. Ben M. Drake,
Peter W. Garland, J. A. Hannon, T. M. Mackorell, Bruce Melvin, S. D.
Guthrie, J. R. Norris, J. F. Ormand, L. Neale Patrick, T. Craig Watson,
C. K. Torrence, Sr., Roy P. Warren, J. E. McNair, Wade Williford.
The current Elders, according to plan, divided into classes by lot
Life Class: J. L. Kendrick, C. J. Rhodes, Harry Rutter, L. J.
Shive, J. W. Timberlake, H. G. Winget.
Class of 1963: M. R. Adams, J. E. Brison, Ralph H. Falls, Robert
A. Gordon, C. C. Kimbrell, Fred A. Ratchford, Ralph S. Robinson,
W. R. Sparrow, Fred W. Spurrier, W. L. Wetzell, Jr.
Class of 1961: T. J. Abernethy, Brice T. Dickson, Ralph A. Dickson,
Paul P. Kincaid, D. R. LaFar, Fred M. Moss, J. R. McGerrigle, Dane S.
Rhyne, Fred L. Smyre, Jr., Quay D. Williford.
Retiring on January 1, 1959: Harry S. Cobb, W. A. Daniel, James
G. Jackson, Clarke Starnes and Fred M. Waters.
On November 20, 1955, the congregation voted to increase the
Board of Deacons from 30 to 45 members by electing 15 members ea.ch
year for three years. The following class was then named, and after
the rotation system for all officers went into effect became the class
of 1959: R. L. Adams, Jr., John M. Akers, L. G. Alexander, J. L.
Baxnett, John W. Bolt, M. T. Cameron, F. P. Cooke, Lewis Craig, J. L.
Hart, H. G. Home, Duke Kimbrell, L. L. McLean, James Rankin, J. N.
Summerell and C. B. Zeigler.
Deacons elected November 11, 1956, and who constituted the Class
of 1961, were: K. A. Bowen, James E. Cashatt, R. O. Crawford, Robert
E. Caldwell, A. Wilson Dunn, Jr., Lawrence C. Davis, W. B. Garrison,
Sr., Dr. Stuart Gibbs, L. N. Huffstetler, John C. Mason, Jr., Frank
Matthews, Dr. H. R. McConnell, John W. Parks, Otis L. Peach, Ernest
The 1963 Class of Deacons, elected November 17, 1957, is composed
of: A. G. Bell, Dr. B. T. Dickson, Jr., Lacy Faust, James B. Garland,
Roy W. Kelly, Dan S. LaFar, W. D. Lawson, Jr., Charles I. Loftin, Jr.,
Harry Mann, Dr. William M. Patrick, Fred H. Ratchford, Harry Rogers,
Elmer Templeton, Charles A. Wetzell and Dr. W. L. Woody.
The December 18, 1960 elections resulted as follows:
Elders, Class of 1967: Robert L. Adams, K. A. Bowen, Harry Cobb,
Lacy Faust, Dr. Stuart Gibbs, Ralph Harper, Frank Matthews, Fred H.
Ratchford, C. K. Torrence, Sr., Charles A. Wetzell.
Deacons, Class of 1967: John M. Akers, Joe L. Barnett, Dr. W. W.
Dickson, Robert Jackson, Duke Kimbrell, David LaFar, John C. Mason,
III, James A. Meek, James McRainey, Larry Petty, J. Sam Query, Ralph
S. Robinson, Jr., Robert N. Rosebro, Landon Thompson, C. K. Torrence,
Thus the transition was made from the traditional to a more
modern type of government, one that has opened new opportunities for
faithful leaders in the church and which has already resulted in greater
activity and consecration to duty.
THE SUNDAY SCHOOL
A strong Sunday school has always been one of the prime objectives
of the church. During the fifties, every effort was made — and with
distinct success — to strengthen the program offered and to make it
available to more and more persons, particularly the young people.
Ralph H. Falls, who had succeeded Howard Whisnant as superin-
tendent of the Sunday school, served until the close of 1954 when he
was succeeded by James B. Garland. His successor was W. D. Lawson,
III, who served until late in 1959 when Bynum Carter became head of
In 1953, the old manse, which was then idle, was remodeled and a
number of rooms prepared for Sunday school classes for the young
people. For about two years, such a program was continued, but
facilities were not of the best.
Ralph A. Dickson, chah'man of the Planning and Development
committee, outlined to the Session on July 10, 1955, plans for extensive
renovation of the basement dining hall and kitchen areas, and of the
assembly area in the educational building.
The subsequent program, completed in the coming few months at
a cost of more than $17,000.00 resulted in greatly improved facilities
for the Sunday school. The Henderlite Bible classroom, the assembly
hall in the educational building heretofore, was converted into three
classrooms; a nursery and primary department were fitted up; the
Henderlite class moved to the dining room where a section was fitted
up for its regular sessions; and the Boy Scout hut, a separate building,
was also converted into a large classroom.
In the same year, a rotation plan for Sunday school teachers and
workers was effected. Under the plan, officers and teachers were to
be elected each year upon recommendation of the Christian Education
committee, but would serve only for a. maximum of three years before
becoming automatically eligible for a leave from the church school for
The Christian Education committee also began annual training
schools, usually held during the summer, with the CE director and
others teaching the classes. Courses deal with the church school, its
literature and materials, church history, ways for better teaching and
similar items. The schools usually continue for six weeks, and from
these trained workers and others who have previously completed the
studies, the CE committee draws teachers and aids for the new Sunday
school year beginning October 1.
The rotation system brought temporary retirement at least to a
number of skilled and valuable teachers, many of whom had served for
decades at their posts. Included among these were such persons as:
Mrs. W. Y. Warren, Mrs. Sam Kindley, Mrs. A. L. Sudduth, Robert
A. Gordon, Fred M. Waters, Mrs. L. J. Shive, Mrs. S. A. Stowe, Mrs.
R. O. Crawford, Mrs. J. A. Ormand, Mrs Geo. V. Patterson, Mrs. D. E.
McConnell, Mrs. J. F. Thomson
However, the program, likewise, opened new challenges and oppor-
tunities to many others in the church and they have responded generous-
ly and with outstanding success. The Sunday school today has an
enrollment of more than 800 with regular attendance around the 500
mark or better.
The 1955 program resulted in the dining room becoming a general
assembly room and the evening vespers were conducted there. There
were "family night" events, with programs for both old and young.
Supper was served in the early evening and then the groups separated
for their programs.
The suppers were on a contribution basis and generally supported
themselves. Mrs. Dane Rhyne, hostess, and her aides prepared the
suppers, abundant and delicious as they were, and service was usually
of the cafeteria style.
The kitchen improvements during that period resulted in a "Class A"
grade and greatly improved facilities. A large part of the modern
equipment now in use will be transferred to the new church for
At the same time, the evening midweek services of the church were
discontinued and a Wednesday noonday vesper service was instituted.
This period of prayer and study was also a fellowship event, as lunch
was served, a regular charge being made for such. The meetings were
held in the dining room and maintained throughout the years a steady
and fairly large attendance.
All these programs have added to the spiritual life of the church,
fellowship among members and stronger ties to God have resulted. With
new and better facilities in the new church, it is anticipated that more
comprehensive programs along the same lines will result.
Throughout the years, the Christian Education committee has been
responsible for many and varied types of Christian Education with
the Director of Christian Education as the executive in charge.
Miss Mary Olive Walker, DRE during the ministry of Mr. Ellis, in
accordance with church policy, tendered her resignation December 3,
1950, but was requested to remain on duty until April 1, 1951 or later.
She continued her work for several months, but left for another field.
Phil Dunford, student at Columbia Seminary, came here during the
summer of 1951, to direct the summer program, especially the Vacation
Bible School, and did a remarkably fine job. He assisted with the
prea.ching services and was beloved by the congregation. He had aided
in the church program as chapel minister during the summer of 1950.
Miss Eubank Taylor of Anderson, S. C, a graduate of Winthrop
College and the Assembly Training School, and who had taught in the
public schools, came here July 12, 1953, from her post at Spartanburg,
S. C, as Director of Religious Education and has done an outstanding
Not only has she headed numerous programs among the young
people as well as adults, but she has taught training and leadership
classes throughout the Synod and at the school in Richmond as well.
She is one of the directors of the Assembly's Training School and is
considered an outstanding authority on church schools and allied
activities. Each summer she conducts training classes for the Pioneer
groups at the Presbytery's Summer Camp.
Vacation Bible Schools, Girl Scouts, area training schools, general
supervision of the Sunday school programs with special emphasis on
young's people's work, fall within her scope.
A Christian Day School for kindergarten and first grade youngsters,
was started in 1948 with the cooperation of four other uptown churches.
The sessions were held at our church through 1951, then went to the
First Methodist for a time. Later they were held at our church, and in
other years at the First Baptist and the First Associate Reformed
Church. The problem of adequate housing together with growing de-
mands of kindergartens by several of the individual churches resulted in
curtailment of the joint program in 1961 with the closing of the joint
venture set for June 1, 1962.
However, leaders feel that with the new church soon in operation,
it is likely that kindergarten classes may be formed under the sponsor-
ship of this congregation, or other educational facilities added.
A strong Boy Scout troop has been another successful endeavor
over the years.
The increased use of visual aids and audio equipment in the new
church will add to facilities for religious education. Projectors, re-
corders, screens, films and other items have been added and will be in
frequent use, it is planned.
MUSIC IN THE CHURCH
Music in the church has been one of the programs that has continued
to attract much attention and support.
Following' the death in 1949 of the gifted R. J. Wheeler, director of
music for several years, the late Mrs. E. N. Dozier served in that post
for some six months.
Miss Mildred Romer, graduate of the Westminster Choir College at
Princeton, N. J., was elected Director of Music and aide in the religious
education and education programs on April 16, 1950 and began work
June 1 of that year. Considerable enlargement of the choirs resulted,
and her solo numbers from time to time added to the enrichment of
religious experiences through music.
Miss Romer resigned July 15, 1951 to enter the mission field in
South America. While there, she married a missionary and in the late
fifties, the family returned to the states and is now living in Virginia.
Miss Annette McCarter and Tony Emanuel, both graduates of the
Westminister Choir School, were co-directors for a short time, after
which Mr. Emanuel handled the program for some months. He resigned
because of work in a Charlotte church and Mrs. Charles A. Wetzell, a
member of the choir and gifted soprano, handled the program from
November 13, 1952 until February 11, 1953 when Herff Applewhite,
native of Corpus Christi, Texas was employed as music director and
assistant to the pastor. He had completed a year's special training work
at Union Seminary at Richmond, Va. and his wife, daughter of Pres-
byterian missionaries to Mexico, had recently graduated from Flora
Army service called Mr. Applewhite after about two years of duty
here and in midyear 1955, Mrs. Roy Warren accepted the post as
Director of Music. A former teacher of public school music with wide
background and training, she has led an active and comprehensive pro-
gram since that time.
The adult and junior choirs, the singing groups of youngsters in
several age classifications, add to the regular programs. In addition to
her work with the choirs, Mrs. Warren also directs the 250-voice Boys'
choir of the community and is active in music clubs and similar groups.
A complete set of 25 English-made handbells was given to the
church in 1959 by an unnamed donor in memory of her daughter, who
died in infancy. The senior and junior choirs gave a number of pro-
grams during 1960 and 1961 and sweet music from these unusual
instruments will be heard often in the coming years.
The bells were imported from the White Chapel Foundry in London.
Mrs. W. Ralph Armstrong has been the church organist for approxi-
mately 15 years. The former Miss Elizabeth Brewer, she taught organ
at Limestone College, Gaffney, S. C, and Bessie Tift College, Forsyth,
Ga. She continues organ classes at Limestone in addition to her many
Mrs. Armstrong is a member of the American Guild of Organists,
is a graduate of the Gilmant Organ School in New York and has studied
at the Julliard and Eastman Schools of Music.
In 1934 the church installed a new Kilgen organ which has been
enlarged on at least one occasion when Mrs. Armstrong added a chimes
chord as a memorial to her husband. The organ, after nearly two
decades of use, is slated for sale after the old church is abandoned, but
it has rendered sweet and pleasing music through the years.
The new church will contain a three-manual Casavant Freres
organ of 47 stops and v/ill be installed at a cost of approximately
$75,000.00. The organ will consist of four manual divisions and pedal
and will be encased in a traditional manner. The casework has been
designed to conform to the contemporary architecture of the church and
a ruckpositiv is provided on the gallery rail.
The stoplist was drawn up by Dr. Richard M. Peek, consultant for
the church and Lawrence I. Phelps, tonal director for Casavant. The
scheme is based up on basic families of stops and designed both for
service playing and recital use.
It is anticipated that this large, handsome and useful instrument
will have a long life in the new sanctuary and that the gospel will be
spread through its sweet tones as well as through the spoken word.
ST. ANDREWS COLLEGE
The North Carolina Presbyterian Synod began plans for a modern,
four-year college during the mid-fifties. Consolidation of Flora Mac-
Donald, Presbyterian Junior and Peace Colleges was voted, with the
a.ssets to form a nucleus for the new institution.
Numerous sites and offers were tendered the trustees with Laurin-
burg being selected as the location. An intensive campaign for funds
was made throughout the state and our church participated generously
with Fred Smyre, Jr., as chairman.
Dr. Moffett was one of the original trustees and served as secretary
of the board during the planning stages. He attended the ground break-
ing at Laurinburg on April 19, 1959. The name "St. Andrews" was
chosen because of the Presbyterian tradition, the courage and manliness
of the apostle by that name. The new college, scheduled for opening in
the fall of 1961, is expected to have an initial student body of 800 and
will be housed in a multi-million dollar plant constructed along
modernistic lines. It will feature the humanities and religious philoso-
phies in its broad curriculum.
Interest in outposts has continued through the past dozen years.
Adams Memorial, which became an independent congregation in
1947, continued to receive aid from our church. Gordon McPherson,
assistant pastor, also preached at Adams Memorial. On March 25, 1950,
he resigned to accept a pastorate at Warren, Ark., and on September 3,
1950, Rev. George T. Brown was called to the pastorate of the Adams
Memorial and, also, the newly organized Linwood church. Mr. Brown
resigned in 1953 to become a missionary in Korea and in 1961 was
appointed president of a Presbyterian-sponsored college in that country.
Both he and his wife had missionary parents, who had served in Korea,
and these young Christians had long indicated a desire to return to that
On October 10, 1953, The Rev. Howard M. Wilson, native of Virginia
came from a Selma, N. C, pastorate to become pastor at Adams
Memorial and assist with the work at Piedmont Chapel. He has occupied
the manse on Vista Drive since then, and in accordance with an agree-
ment made at that time, the Fiist church continues to assist with his
salary. The church became a part of the Home Mission program of the
Presbytery and Synod on January 1, 1960.
The Linwood church was organized during the pastorate of Mr.
Ellis. On July 11, 1948, the Session voted the establishment of a church
in that area when 30 names shall have been affixed to petition that
Session approve request to Presbytery that Linwood become a separate
church. Such action came shortly.
In September of the same year, Dane S. Rhyne, chairman of the
Home Mission Committee, recommended the purchase of a lot of
100 x 150 feet on Linwood Avenue for $900 to be home of new church.
The Session approved and authorized rental of a store building nearby
as temporary home for the congregation. Regular preaching services
by Rev. Gordon McPherson started.
A year later, the First Presbyterian Church authorized a campaign
for $3,000 for the Linwood church and $2,100 for the Presbytery camp at
Linwood continued to receive aid from this church another year
or two. In September 1950, the deed for the Linwood property was
transferred to the trustees of that congregation. Regular growth has
been noted in the intervening years. The modern, brick church that was
constructed has recently been air-conditioned, a full-time pastor is
doing good work and the congregation appears to be progressing
The Piedmont Chapel has had a steady program, but growth has
been slow. In the pa.st few years, devoted work has been by Charles
A. Moss, J. R. McGerrigle, Mrs. Fred Moss, Mrs. Robert Gordon and
others with the programs there. Rev. Mr. Wilson is the minister who
holds regular services. During 1961, vacation Bible school was excep-
tionally well attended and leaders have been pleased with the increased
activities and the interest shown.
WORK IN THE PRESBYTERY
The First Presbyterian Church is the largest among the 46 con-
gregations in the Kings Mountain Presbytery and has always taken
leadership parts in its programs.
About one-third of the monetary requirements of the Presbytery
are usually received from our church and both Dr. Moffett and Dr.
Brown have served as moderators. Other members have taken active
parts in various programs.
Among present leadership members are: J. Bynum Carter, member
of the Christian Education Committee; W. A. Daniel, member of the
Church Extension Committee; Peter Woods Garland, member of the
Stewardship Committee; J. R. McGerrigle, member of Presbytery's
Council; Mrs. Hugh A. Query, Presbyterial President; Mrs. J. N. Brown,
Presbyterial Recording Secretary; Mrs. R. W. McCarter, Presbyterial
Chairman of Church Extension; and Mrs. Fred M. Moss, Presbyterial
Chairman of White Cross.
Strong support has been given all types of mission work through-
out the years and at the present time, the congregation is supporting,
either in full or part, the following foreign missionaries: Dr. and Mrs.
Langdon Henderlite, Brazil; Rev. and Mrs. J. Kemp Hobson, Africa;
Rev. and Mrs. J. A. Mc Alpine, Japan; Rev. and Mrs. C. G. Durham,
Korea; Rev. and Mrs. A. T. Trimble, Jr., Taiwan.
From time to time, these missionaries visit the local congregations
and bring messages of unusual interest and inspiration.
WOMEN OF THE CHURCH
The Women of the Church, throughout the years, have maintained
strong and progressive programs which have been marked by real
devotion to the church and their many causes.
Mission activities, Montreat, Barium Springs, the Home for the
Aged — all have had continuous support. In addition, through the
circles, many church activities have been strengthened by these loyal
members. Flowers in the chancel, visits to the sick, home services,
service at dinners and similar meetings have all received their coopera-
The Women of the Church have a $4,500.00 budget for 1961 and it
is being met through their sacrificial offerings and self-denial pro-
grams. In keeping with the policy of the Presbyterian Church U. S.,
no money-raising ventures such as fairs, dinners, bazaars or similar
schemes are undertaken.
Mrs. Von Hollinger and Mrs. W. L. Wilson were presidents of the
groups at the close of the Forties. Since then, presidents have been:
Mrs. O. Douglas Boyce, 1950-51; Mrs. Hugh A. Query, 1952-53; Mrs.
J. N. Summerell, 1954-55; Mrs. T. L. Wilson, 1956-57; Mrs. W. H.
Jarman, 1958-59; Mrs. E. L. Patterson, 1960-61.
Other present officers are: Mrs. W. H. Jarman, first vice president;
Mrs. James B. Garland, second vice president; Mrs. J. N. Brown, secre-
tary; Mrs. Fred Upchurch, treasurer; Mrs. T. J. Abernathy, historian.
Mrs. W. L. Wetzell, Jr., is the president-elect.
The women in the congregation have been devided into 24 circles
which meet each month and conduct their own programs in cooperation
with the general program of the parent organization.
MR. ELLIS RESIGNS
The Rev. I. M. Ellis, pastor since 1940 and for two years prior,
assistant pastor and director of music, announced to the congregation
en December 3, 1950, that he desired to be relieved of his work December
31. He stated that for more than 12 years, he and his family had
enjoyed many happy experiences here, but that he felt there was a
definite need for his talents in the field of religious education. For
more than six months, he continued, he had had under consideration an
offer and had accepted new work as Regional Director of Religious
Education in the Synod of Appalachia, with headquarters in Knoxville,
The congregation yielded to his request. The final service by Mr.
Ellis was on December 31, at which time communion was observed,
appropriate resolutions were read by Hugh A. Query, clerk of the
session; and title and keys to a new automobile were presented by
Ralph A. Dickson on behalf of the congregation.
A Pulpit Committee to seek a new pastor was formed on January
7, 1951 and composed of the following: Robert A. Gordon and Hugh
Query, from the session; Caldwell Ragan, W. L. Wetzell, Jr., from the
diaconate; John M. Akers, M. R. Adams and W. B. Garrison, from the
congregation; Mesdames Ralph H. Falls, M. B. Wales, D. E. McConnell,
J. N. Summerell and F. L. Smyre, from the Women of the Church;
James Boyce Garland and Mrs. A. M. Spencer, Jr., from the young
people's groups. Mrs. O. D. Boyce, president of the Women of the
Church, and W. R. Sparrow, a deacon, were added to the committee
During World War II the need for church improvements was
strongly felt, but because of restrictions on building materials, it was
decided to defer action.
However, funds were laid aside for such work and with more than
$38,000 on hand, the committee, headed by D. R. LaFar, had extensive
renovations done and announced completion of the work in December
1949. Shortly thereafter, special dedicatory services were held.
The work included changes in the main auditorium that made for
better acoustics, both for the preacher and the choir. The organ and
choir were moved behind the pulpit, transepts were built to the right
and left of the pulpit; additional Sunday school rooms were built on
the first and second floors of the annex and larger classrooms were
provided for some of the adult classes.
Mr. W. C. Adams, retired Southern Bell Telephone Company mana-
ger, was elected director of business affairs in February 1951 and
rendered faithful service for about three years. The church has had no
such office since that time, but discussions are now being held as to
advisability of naming someone to a similar post when the new church
TRIP TO THE CONGO
On March 16, 1960, the Board of World Missions, of which Dr.
Moffett had been a valued member for years, requested the session to
permit him to accompany Dr. Darby Fulton, executive secretary, to the
African (Belgian) Congo.
Inasmuch as independence was scheduled to come to the Congo on
June 30, it was felt necessary for leaders to visit the missions there, to
assist in setting up the work program and help native leaders coordinate
their activities. The session unanimously agreed to the request.
The trip by air started March 23 and continued for three weeks.
Dr. Moffett made many colored slides of the country, the mission
fields and the work there, of the various areas which ranged from the
primitive "bush" sections to modern cities. On his return, he lectured
several times at the church, and later, to other churches in this area,
and exhibited his color slides.
With the coming of independence and the resulting* outbreaks,
many of the fears of these leaders were realized. The mission work,
disrupted because of violence, destruction of missions in some instances
and the forced retirement of many missionaries, has had a serious
set-back, but the leaders are confident that the work will be resumed
in a short time and will go forward with renewed vigor.
THE OLD CORNERSTONE
The cornestone in the old church was removed during the summer
of 1960 by Chairman Dickson and his Memorials Committee in prepara-
tion for a cornerstone in the new church.
The sealed box contained a copy of the church roll, historical data
and other usual relics, many of which will become a part of the larger
box of contents for the new plant.
MRS. GEORGE PATTERSON
Mrs. George V. Patterson, one of the most widely known and active
members of the church, died June 10, 1959, after a sudden illness. For
half a century or more, she had been a teacher of the Women's Bible
Class, a leader in local, presbyterial and synodical programs, had been
state president of the Women of the Church; she had also served on the
board of directors for the Presbyterian Home for the Aged in High
Point and had been actively associated with Barium Springs Orphanage.
For years she had conducted leadership courses at state conferences
and her keen knowledge of the church and its affairs, her understanding
of human problems, made her a valued and much-sought instructor.
She, likewise, had been keenly active in the work of this church and
for years visited newcomers and members perhaps more than any other
individual. She had held many church offices with honor and distinction
and she was widely beloved.
IN THE MINISTRY
Two sons of the church have entered the ministry in the past few
Neely McCarter, son of Mr. and Mrs. R. L. McCarter, on Novem-
ber 30, 1947, was accepted and approved by the Session as a candidate
for the ministry and commended to the care of Presbytery. In 1948,
while attending Presbyterian College at Clinton, S. C, he served as
pianist for the glee club. He completed his work there and at Columbia
Seminary, did further study at the University of Florida while a student
pastor, and in 1960 earned his Ph. D. degree from Yale University. He
holds a pastorate in Georgia.
Thomas Lee Wilson, Jr., son of the late Mr. and Mrs. T. L. Wilson,
was accepted by the session as a candidate for the ministry on September
12, 1952. He did his schooling at Erskine College, finished his seminary
work and is now pastor of a church at Columbia, Tenn.
Because of business congestions and the general trend to place
ministers and their families away from the church, it was decided in
eaxly 1951 that a new manse should be sought for the soon-to-come new
Ralph A. Dickson, chairman of the Manse Committee recommended
to the Session on February 10, 1952, that the congregation purchase
the William Conn home in Hillcrest as a home for ministers. The con-
gregation approved the purchase, the cost was $32,500 with $1,500
credited by the Conns as a contribution to the church.
The lovely two-story home was completely renovated, an additional
room added and other improvements made at cost of $5,000. This figure
did not include many generous gifts from members who preferred to
remain anonymous and who added such things as wall-to-wall carpeting,
air conditioners and draperies and curtains.
The Women of the Church took charge of the interior decorating
prior to the arrival of the Moffetts and rendered invaluable service in
making the new home a place of beauty and convenience.
Appreciation of the congregation was extended to Dane and Fred
Rhyne, on February 22, 1948, for their generous gift of a large lot on
Vista Drive on which to construct a manse for an assistant pastor.
The gift was a memorial to the late parents of these two churchmen.
Dane Rhyne presented recommendations of a Building Committee
regarding construction of the manse. The committee was authorized to
proceed and the building was erected and partly furnished in the coming
months at cost of $14,500.
The Rev. and Mrs. Gordon A. McPherson and their small daughter
first occupied the manse on August 5, 1948.
PRESBYTERIANS RECALL THAT. . . .
The beautiful, hand embrodiered communion cloth used since the
first of 1957 was a gift from missionaries in Brazil. Mrs. Ralph A.
Dickson, who had charge of the communion linen for years, was advised
in the fall of 1956 that the cloth was underway and it arrived in
December to be used at the first communion service in 1957. Dr. and
Mrs. Langdon Henderlite, missionaries under support from our church,
provided the cloth which was about a year in the making. Of hand-
woven lace, embrodiered by hand, much beautiful and intricate work was
involved in its making and today, it adds to the beauty and dignity of
Miss Hattie Stowe, veteran primary teacher in the city schools and
now retired, directed the teaching of the Child's Catechism for many
years as a part of her work in the primary department of the Sunday
schools. Literally, hundreds of youngsters have taken pride throughout
the years in appearing before the church, usually around Easter, to
receive this Testament and the silver dollar given to each who had
learned this bit of Christian literature and to receive the plaudits of
the minister and congregation.
Miss Stowe has also rendered valuable service as a member of the
choir and fills her usual role with regularity.
The tall, graceful stained glass windows in the old church were
memorials to pioneers in the church and community and were donated by
their families in lasting remembrance of their deeds. Each window
bore a nameplate to commemorate one or more families which had been
prominent and faithful in the service of the church.
With the passing of the old church, these windows will likewise
pass, but some families have requested that they be permitted to have
the windows as remembrances, or for some other types of memorials.
The Singles and Doubles class, composed of younger adults, changed
its name to the Ellis Bible Class in honor of The Rev. I. M. Ellis, former
pastor who assisted in its formation. In recent years, it has become the
largest class in the church and from its members are drawn a large
number of teachers in all departments of the Sunday school.
The Vanguard Bible Class, in the fall of 1957, changed its name to
the Eunice Warren Bible Class in honor of Mrs. W. Y. Warren, organizer
and teacher for 44 years. Mrs. Warren was honored at a special meeting
of the class, tributes were paid and best wishes given as she retired
from active duty.
The Nellie Warren and the Herald Bible classes, two of the honored
women's groups in the Sunday school, were merged about 1955 and
became known as the Women's Bible class.
A large room in the Sunday school section, now known as the
"church parlor", was handsomely fitted up. Dr. James Lee Love, native
of this city and textile tycoon, made donations totaling around $5,000.00
for furnishings for this area. These included a baby grand piano, wall-
to-wall carpeting, 30 ladder back chairs, a handsome and unique break-
front, lamps, and other items. Two leather-upholstered divans and four
chairs of matching type were included.
Portraits of former teachers, beautiful desks and altar stand, were
Dr. Love's furnishings were in memory of his mother, Mrs. R. C. G.
Love and his niece, Mrs. George V. Patterson, who taught the Nellie
Warren class for more than a quarter of a century.
Mrs. Mamie Love Glenn of Lincolnton, contributed a Swiss clock,
silver bowl and two large mirrors as memorials to her father, R. C. G.
Love, and in honor of Mrs. Patterson.
Mrs. P. R. Falls, in honor of the Women's Bible class, contributed a
picture: "The Last Supper". Mrs. James Lee Love gave an oil painting
of her husband; while Dr. Love gave a portrait of his mother.
The Nellie Warren Bible class added portraits of: Mrs. R. P. Smith,
Mrs. R. C. Warren and Miss Lottie Warren.
The Herald Bible class provided portraits of: Mrs. S. A. Kindley and
Mrs. J. F. Thomson.
On behalf of the Nellie Warren Bible class, Mrs. Hugh A. Query
contributed a portrait of Mrs. George V. Patterson.
The Rev. and Mrs. J. A. McAlpine, missionaries, who have had a
long connection with the church, added a Japanese print.
The handsomely furnished classroom brought together two of the
most active and energetic groups in the church and their programs of
activity continue unabated.
With removal to the new church, many of these furnishings will be
utilized in the room for the Session, in the lounges and at other strategic
spots and will bring joy and inspiration for many years to come.
Folk games and folk dances, including the square dance, were
OLD CHURCH BUILDING
DR. J. N. BROWN
DR. HARRY M. MOFFETT
authorized by the Session following requests from the Young People's
council in February 1949. Session voted that such games and dancing
would be allowed under proper supervision and auspices. In the coming
years, groups of the young people, along with many of their 'elders',
enjoyed these privileges on frequent occasions.
Miss Bess Jackson, native of Gastonia, has been the beloved a.nd
efficient church secretary for more than two decades. She knows the
members of the church, affairs of the congregation, church history and
the workings of the church perhaps better than anyone in the group and
is widely beloved for her pleasing manner and courteous and efficient
"The Beacon", the church bulletin and news letter, goes out each
week to every family in the congregation and is a valuable source of
material as well as a means of conveying information to members.
Mr. B. B. Gardner and Miss Mary Waxren were the first couple
to be married in the old church, which was started in May 1895 and
first occupied in February 1896. Their wedding was soon thereafter
culminated and throughout the years, the Gardner and Warren families
have been prominent in many activities, not only in the church but
throughout the community.
Children of this couple — Miss Sarah Gardner and Warren Gardner,
are active in the church.
Mr. B. B. Gardner set a record of 25 consecutive years of perfect
attendance at the Henderlite Bible class before ill health forced a break
in his career in the early fifties.
Mrs. Dane S. Rhyne, church hostess for more than 20 years, tendered
her resignation in late 1960 to the regret of the entire congregation. An
unusually fine cook in her own right as well as an efficient and
accommodating church hostess, she had prepared and served thousands
of tasty meals during those years. From a small number of meals
served once in a while to circles and small groups, her duties increased
greatly. When Wednesday noonday vespers with lunch were instituted
and the evening vespers on Sunday replaced the night meetings, lunches
and suppers were served in great quantities.
With efficient help in the kitchen, Mrs. Rhyne always rose to the
occasion, despite many events at which numbers of those attending were
uncertain, and no one ever went away hungry. Many persons will recall
for a long time to come the varied menus, the tasty, delicious and
abundant meals that were always served.
With the opening of the new church, expected increases in demands
for dinner meetings and such, and with a desire to devote more time to
her family, Mrs. Rhyne's request for a replacement was agreed upon —
but most reluctantly!
Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Gordon tendered their resignations in
April 1954, effective July 1, as directors and advisors of the Senior
High Young- People's group. For more than ten years, this devoted
couple had given generously of their time and efforts in advising the
young people, had opened their home to them on all occasions, and each
Sunday evening saw large groups gathered at their home for songs,
cookies and good fellowship.
During the war, Mrs. Gordon was especially adept in writing to
former members of the group and in keeping them in contact with the
church and its affairs. Mrs. Gordon, likewise, was a teacher in the
Sunday School for many years.
Mr. Gordon, an Elder for more than a decade, Clerk of the Session
for a long period, and teacher of the Henderlite Bible Class for years
and years, was like a "father" to the young men who came under his
influence. Through his efforts, a cabin was erected on the Catawba
river lake and for years, until the property was reclaimed by the power
company, outdoor and lake events were a regular part of the young
people's programs. Retreats, with emphasis on Christian living, outdoor
sports and "eats'" were regular affairs. The impact of the Christian
virtues, Christian living and Christian lives of the Gordons will be
felt in the church for generations to come.
The Session, in accepting their resignations from their field of
service, passed resolutions of regret and appreciation at the generous
work done over a long period of years.
The radio ministry of the church began with the first Sunday in
July 1954. In June of that year the Session voted to move the morning
service from 11 o'clock to 9 A. M., so that the service could be broad-
cast over radio station WGNC for the coming two months. So successful
was the initial program that it has continued without interruption and
every effort is being made to maintain this choice spot on the radio dial.
Later in 1954, the Session voted to hold two morning services — one
at 9 A. M., and the other at 11 A. M. — and except for summer months,
when only one service has been held, that program has been continued.
In order to care for programs when snows or bad weather forced
cancellation of church services, the radio station has kept on hand a
taped service and sermon so that the radio audience might not be
deprived of the Sunday morning program.
The radio ministry has proven to be such an effective phase of the
religious life of the community that its operation has become a regular
and stated part of the church budget each year since its inauguration.
The four huge, beauiful water oaks alongside the old church are
massive specimens which were set out in 1897 while little saplings some
three or four inches in diameter. Feet-instead of inches — better describe
these handsome trees of today due to their growth for the past 64 years
and it saddens the hearts of many that these will soon fall as demolition
of the church and excavation of the grounds follow.
The trees were planted by Mr. Joe Ratchford of the New Hope
section, father of the Rev. Raymond Ratchford, for years pastor of
Goshen church; and his brother, the late Mr. E. E. Ratchford, father of
Mrs. Coit E. Rhyne. Descendants of the Ratchford families are still
prominent in the life of the church.
Two other large water oaks, likely set out a few years later, stood
on each side of the entrance to the manse. One fell during a severe
windstorm in the mid-fifties, the other was removed when the city
excavated a part of the lot in 1960 to make a parking lot.
The big trees around the church have brought much shade and
comfort to the congregation as members assembled in small groups for
friendly gatherings during the hot, summer days.
The "class under the trees" was often discussed as men gathered
after church and during Sunday school hours and became so engrossed
in topics of the day that they failed to report to their class! Never-
theless, the practice continued and observers continued their pithy re-
marks as to its value.
The extensive plantings of shrubbery around the old church grounds
and the ivy-covered tower, as well as the massive trees, reminds lovers
of the beautiful that these things cannot be achieved quickly. Time is
required for all plantings to achieve their growth and mellowness and
the years have brought a maturity to the plantings around the old
church which will be missing at first from the new surroundings.
However, a number of natural trees are on the Kendrick Drive
grounds, landscape artists are already at work planning for additional
trees, shrubbery, grass and flowers which, in a relatively few years,
will erase the newness of the spot and will add ever-increasing beauty
and color. Generations to come will derive widespread pleasure from
these plantings of today and, doubtless, trees will be able to live out
their natural lives so well has the new church and its surroundings been
planned and developed.
THE "GALLANT GIRLS"
The Gallant sisters — Miss Pearl, Mrs. S. A. Robinson and Mrs.
P. R. Huffstetler, were lifelong and active members of the congregation.
Their old home stood at the corner of Franklin and Marietta just
across the street from the church and where a service station now is
Miss Pearl, long a primary teacher in the city schools, operated a
private school for beginners for several years after her retirement from
the public schools. She was for many years a valued teacher in the
Sunday school and was busy with musical programs also.
"Miss Bess", as Mrs. Huffstetler was best known, and "Miss Sue",
the name by which Mrs. Robinson was often called, were likewise held
in deep affection by the church. Regular attendants at the various
services were they, and they also had leading parts through the years in
women's activities and other affairs.
"Camp Gallant", the large, two-story home at Montreat, was open
summer after summer to Gastonians and many members of the church
and other friends, found delightful accommodations there while attend-
ing conferences or enjoying vacations in the mountains. Oftimes, young
people's groups were also welcomed there and they, as well as many
adults, have happy memories of "Camp Gallant".
All three have now passed on. "Miss Pearl" died in the early fifties;
"Miss Bess" a few years later and "Miss Sue" near the close of the
An impressive service was held Sunday, March 12, 1961, honoring
Mr. Harry Eutter who has been an Elder of this church for half a
century. Dr. J. N. Brown, chairman of the committee, presented Mr.
Rutter to the congregation at the 11 o'clock service and John A. Wilkins,
Elder, read a paper evaluating the excellent and devoted work of Mr.
Rutter as he served over the years. Mr. and Mrs. Rutter have been out-
standing leaders in the church since they came here as bride and groom
in 1902. Mr. Rutter, former city engineer, is now retired.
The large, two-story white manse at the corner of Franklin and
Marietta and adjacent to the church, was built in 1905 at a total of
$4,000. Before completion, another $1,000 was authorized for adding a
"piazza", building a barn for the pastor's horse and some furnishings
and construction of a basement.
The manse served pastors until the retirement of Mr. Ellis. After
a year or two of idleness, it was converted into Sunday school quarters.
However, in 1955, when the main educational building of the church was
renovated and additional rooms provided for classes, the manse was
torn away and the grounds leveled for parking purposes.
In 1960, following purchase by the city of the church properties,
the area formerly occupied by the manse, was graded to street level,
it was paved and parking meters installed by the city. In a few months
after the congregation moves to its new church, the remaining property
will, likewise, become a parking area, according to present plans.
An unusual occurrence was recorded late in December 1960. J. W.
Timberlake, who had given devoted service to the church for a long
period, and who had been an Elder since 1926, passed away after a long
illness. His funeral was held at 11 o'clock on December 26. An hour
later, his wife dropped dead at their home and was buried the following
day beside her husband. Mrs. Timberlake, much beloved and also very
active in the church, is deeply mourned.
Other valued Elders also died during the decade just ended. Included
among them were:
Hugh A. Query, in August 1952. He had been an Elder since 1942,
was first elected a Deacon in 1926, had served as Clerk of the Session
for several years, and had written a comprehensive history of the
church in 1948.
Ed C. Adams, first named Deacon in 1926 and Elder in 1940, died
suddenly February 19, 1956. He had been especially active in the
Christian Day school.
P. W. Garland, elected in 1919, died December 20, 1957, after 38
years of valued service. For a decade or more he taught the Men's
Fred Spurrier, named Deacon in 1937 and Elder in 1946, passed
away December 27, 1959.
CLERKS OF THE SESSION
Throughout the years, outstanding Elders have served as Clerks of
Robert A. Gordon held this office from 1946 until his resignation
in the late forties.
Hugh A. Query was then elected Clerk and served until his death in
1952. On September 7, 1952, James G. Jackson became Clerk and served
until Fred A. Ratchford was named as his successor on January 16,
1955. Mr. Ratchford is still the Clerk and faithful in his duties.
The question of union of the Presbyterian Church of the U. S. with
the northern branch and another allied group was vigorously debated by
the Session and throughout the church during 1955 when the issue was
before the entire denomination. The First Presbyterian's Session voted
15-14 for union. The issue was denied by the whole denomination and
has not been revived to current date.
During 1951 and a part of 1952 when the church was without a
regular pastor, the pulpit was filled by eminent visitors. Among these
were: Dr. John R. Cunningham, president of Davidson College and Dr.
J. McDowell Richards, president of Columbia Seminary.
Dr. Ernest Beaty of Davidson College, professor of languages and
ordained minister, served for a six-months' period and brought learned
messages. His discourses might well have been delivered in their entirety
in Latin, Greek or German so proficient was he in these languages.
FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
Gastonia, N. C.
OCTOBER 15, 1961
Abernathy, Ben E.
Abernathy, Mrs. Ben E.
Abernathy, Thomas J.
Abernathy, Mrs. Thomas J.
Abernethy, Mrs. Minnie
Adams, David S.
Adams, Mrs. David S.
Adams, Mrs. Ed C.
Adams, Lacy E.
Adams, Mrs. Maida M.
Adams, Minor R., Jr.
Adams, Mrs. Minor R., Jr.
Adams, Minor R., Ill
Adams, William Preston
Adams, Robert L.
Adams, Mrs. Robert L.
Adams, Dr. Simeon H.
Adams, Mrs. Mimeon H.
Adams, W. C.
Adams, Mrs. W. C.
Akers, John M.
Akers, Mrs. John M.
Alexander, I. N.
Alexander, Mrs. I. N.
Alexander, Leon G.
Alexander, Mrs. Leon G.
Alexander, L. George, Jr.
Alexander, Miss Margaret J.
Alexander, Ralph S.
Alexander, Mrs. Ralph S.
Ameen, Mrs. John
Amor, H. L.
Amor, Mrs. H. L.
Anderson, Miss Emma
Andrews, Edgar M.
Andrews, Mrs. Edgar M.
Armstrong, Mrs. W. Ralph
Atwood, Jesse W.
Atwood, Mrs. Jesse W.
Baber, Otto 0.
Baber, Mrs. Otto 0.
Baird, Charles L.
Banner, B. G.
Banner, Mrs. B. G.
Barnett, Joseph L.
Barnett, Mrs. Joseph L.
Barnhill, Robert H.
Barnhill, Mrs. Robert H.
Beam, Mrs. Margaret R.
Beasley, Mrs. Alice Starnes
Belk, Hubert Barclay
Belk, Mrs. Hubert Barclay
Belk, Sally Lynn
Belk, Olin B.
Belk, Mrs. Olin B.
Bell, A. Gilbert
Bell, Mrs. A. Gilbert
Bell, Franke Ann
Belton, James B.
Belton, Mrs. James B.
Belton, James B., Jr.
Belton, Walter D., Jr.
Belton, Mrs. Walter D., Jr.
Belton, Joyce Lake
Bennett, Mrs. Emily Moss
Berryman, John M., Jr.
Berryman, Mrs. John M., Jr.
Blaine, Mrs. Walter A.
Blaine, Walter A., Jr.
Blaine, Mrs. Walter A., Jr.
Blaine, Laura Jean
Blakely, Mrs. David
Blumenberg, Mrs. Paula
Boren, Charles K.
Bossarman, Ramsey C.
Bosserman, Mrs. Ramsey C.
Bosserman, Lucy Mae
Bosserman, Dolly Virginia
Bowen, K. A.
Bowen, Mrs. K. A.
Boyce, Dr. 0. Douglas
Boyce, Mrs. 0. Douglas
Boyce, 0. Douglas, Jr.
Boyles, Robert Calvin
Bragg, R. Charles
Bragg, Mrs. R. Charles
Braumiller, Mrs. Jack
Brice, Robert S.
Brice, Robert S., Jr.
Brison, J. Ed
Brison, Mrs. J. Ed
Brison, John E., Jr.
Brison, Mrs. John E., Jr.
Brison, Mrs. Lee L.
Brockman, Thomas M.
Brockman, Mrs. Thomas M.
Brockman, Mrs. Zoe Kincaid
Brooks, C. C.
Brooks, Mrs. C. C.
Brown, Mrs. J. N.
Brown, Mrs. James Samuel
Brown, S. James
Brown, Mrs. S. James
Brown, S. James, Jr.
Brown, Donald Floyd
Bryant, Hugh F.
Bryant, Mrs. Hugh F.
Burns, Mrs. Melvin
Bynum, M. R.
Bynum, Mrs. M. R.
Cabiness, Henry C.
Cabiness, Mrs. Henry C.
Calder, Mrs. Duncan G., Sr.
Caldwell, Miss Estelle
Caldwell, Dana J.
Caldwell, R. Eugene
Caldwell, Robert E.
Caldwell, Mrs. Robert E.
Caldwell, Joan Wanda (Penny)
Caldwell, W. H.
Caldwell, Mrs. W. H.
Caldwell. William H., Jr.
Cameron, M. T.
Cameron, Mrs. M. T.
Cameron, Jane Allison
Cannon, Mrs. David
Carothers, Miss Edmonia
Carothers, Miss Janie Mae
Carothers, Mrs. Randolph
Carpenter, Mrs. James E.
Carpenter, Mrs. Mary R.
Carroll, Mrs. W. J.
Carter, J. Bynum
Carter, Mrs. J. Bynum
Cashatt, James E.
Cashatt, Mrs. James E.
Cashatt, Rebecca Louise
Cashatt, Jo Ann
Cathey, Mrs. F. A., Jr.
Cathey, Mrs. L. M.
Cathey, Miss Justus
Ca.they, Mrs. Wilton
Cherrv, Mrs. Ralph B.
Cherry, Ruth Irene
Cherry, James Ralph
Clemmer, Audrey M.
Clemmer, Mrs. Audrey M.
Clemmer, George Montrose
Clemmer, Barbara Frances
Cline, Bill D.
Cline, Mrs. Bill D.
Cline, H. B.
Cline, Mrs. H. B.
Cobb, Harry S.
Cobb, Mrs. Harry S.
Cook, Mrs. John
Cooke, Frank P.
Cooke, Mrs. Frank P.
Copeland, Miss Georgia
Craig', Mrs. J. Lesesne
Craig, Mrs. R. C.
Craig, Mrs. W. B.
Craig, William Lewis
Craig, Mrs. William Lewis
Craig, William Lewis, Jr.
Crawford, Mrs. R. 0.
Crosby, Mrs. Bryan
Cruse, Denton W.
Cruise, Mrs. Denton W.
Cruse, Denton W., Jr.
Currence, Mrs. John L.
Currence, R. Carl
Cuirence, Mrs. R. Carl
Currence, George Robert
Curry, Mrs. Minnie H.
Davis, Dr. Jefferson
Davis, Mrs. Jefferson
Davis, Thomas J.
Dailey, Mrs. George
Daniel, Charles F.
Daniel, Mrs. Charles F.
Daniel, Wesley A.
Daniel, Mrs. Wesley A.
Davidson, Miss Cora
Davidson, Isaac F.
Davidson, Mrs. Isaac
Davis, Cecil H.
Davis, Mrs. Cecil H.
Davis, Mrs. Flay
Davis, Frank W.
Davis, Mrs. Frank W.
Davis, Lawrence C.
Davis, Mrs. Lawrence C.
Davis, Philip A.
Davis, Mrs. Philip A.
Davis, Mrs. Thomas C.
Davis, Jerilyn Glenn
Dellinger, Mrs. Floyd
Dent, Claude E.
Dent, Mrs. Claude E.
Dickey, C. M.
Dickey, Mrs. C. M.
Dickson, Brice T.
Dickson, Mrs. Brice T.
Dickson, Dr. Brice T., Jr.
Dickson, Mrs. Brice T., Jr.
Dickson, Stephen Lynn
Dickson, Paul R.
Dickson, Mrs. Paul R.
Dickson, Ralph A.
Dickson, Mrs. Ralph A.
Dickson, Dr. Walter W.
Dickson, Mrs. Walter W.
Dixon, Mrs. Lee
Dixon, Mrs. W. Jack
Dixon, R. Lee
Dixon, W. Patrick
Dobbins, Mrs. Martha C.
Drake, Dr. Ben M.
Drake, Mrs. Ben M.
Drake, Mary Louise
Dunagin, Brice R.
Dunagin, Mrs. Brice R.
Dunagin, Joyce Marie
Dunn, A. W.
Dunn, Mrs. A. W.
Dunn, Julia Mae
Dunn, A. Wilson, Jr.
Dunn, Mrs. A. Wilson, Jr.
Eaves, Mrs. Mattie Alexander
Edwards, Mrs. H. D.
Efird, Hoyle T.
Efird, Mrs. Hoyle T.
Efird, Thomas David
Estridge, Mrs. James
Etheredge, James L.
Etheredge, Mrs. James L.
Eyler, Charles E.
Evler, Mrs. Charles E.
Eyler, Charles E., Ill
Falls, Mrs. Harry
Falls, Mrs. Helen Spurrier
Falls, John Rankin
Falls, Mrs. John Rankin
Falls, Miss Rebecca
Falls, Ralph Holland
Falls, Mrs. Ralph Holland
Falls, Ralph Holland, Jr.
Fa,ust, Lacy S.
Faust, Mrs. Lacy S.
Fayssoux, Mrs. Will I.
Fearrington, Thomas H.
Fearrington, Mrs. Thomas H.
Ferguson, Benjamin E.
Ferguson, Mrs. Benjamin E.
Ferguson, Benjamin Allen
Ferguson, Mrs. Ross
Ferris, Coy Joe
Ferris, Mrs. Coy Joe
Findley, James H.
Finnell, Mrs. Merle C.
Fogarty, Mrs, Rose Wilson
Ford, Lawrence R.
Ford, Mrs. Lawrence R.
Ford, William Henry
Forrest, William G.
Forrest, Mrs. William G.
Fort, Mrs. C. H.
Freeman, Mrs. Parmer
French, Dean A.
French, Mrs. Dean A.
Froneberger, Mrs. R. A.
Gardner, Miss Sarah Margaret
Gardner, Walter A.
Gardner, Mrs. Walter A.
Gardner, Warren Y.
Gardner, Mrs. Warren Y.
Garland, James Boyce
Garland, Mrs. James Boyce
Garland, Peter Woods
Garland, Mrs. Peter Woods
Garlington, J. H.
Garlington, Mrs. J. H.
Gannon, Mrs. Mary K.
Garmon, William Perry
Garrison, W. B.
Garrison, Mrs. W. B.
Garrison, L. Synder
Garrison, M. Lee
Garrison, W. B., Jr.
Garrison, Mrs. W. B., Jr.
Gettys, Frank C.
Gettys, Mrs. Joseph
Gibbs, Dr. Stuart W.
Gibbs, Mrs. Stuart W.
Gibbs, Ann Bowen
Gilbert, Willaxd S.
Gilbert, Mrs. Willard S.
Giles, Mrs. H. M.
Giles, Harry Mac, Jr.
Giles, Mrs. Harry Mac, Jr.
Giles, Larry Miles
Giles, James Allen
Giles, R. William
Giles, Mrs. R. William
Giles, Robert Glenn
Glenn, Miss Carrie L.
Glenn, Mrs. George C.
Glenn, Dr. H. F.
Glenn, Mrs. H. F.
Glenn, John David
Glenn, Mrs. John David
Glenn, John David, Jr.
Glenn, John Lucius (Jay)
Goforth, E. E.
Goforth, Mrs. E. E.
Gordon, Robert A.
Gordon, Mrs. Robert A.
Gordon, John Boyd
Gordon, Robert Andrew, Jr.
Gordon, Mrs. Robert Andrew, Jr,
Gray, Robert J.
Gray, Mrs. Robert J.
Gray, Robert J., Jr.
Gray, Richard Kelly
Green, Irvin A.
, Mrs. Irvin A.
, Mrs. Norris
Mrs. Harry G.
Mrs. Roger M.
Mrs. V. G.
, A. F.
Mrs. A. F.
, Mrs. S. G.
Grigg, Mrs. Reggie
Groves, David McLees
Hackney, Robert D.
Hackney, Mrs. Robert D.
Hannon, James A.
Hannon, Mrs. James A.
Hannon, James William
Hardin, C. D.
Hardin, Mrs. C. D.
Harmon, C. C.
Harmon, Mrs. C. C.
Harmon, C. C., Jr.
Harmon, Miss Ida
Harper, Mrs. H. H.
Harper, Ralph R.
Harper, Mrs. Ralph R.
Harper, R. Ragan, Jr.
Harris, John P.
Harris, Mrs. John P.
Harrison, Charles A.
Harrison, Mrs. Charles A.
Harrison, Cheryl Kathleen
Harrison, Charles Allen, II
Harrison, F. Brad
Harrison, Mrs. F. Brad
Hart, J. L.
Hart, Mrs. J. L.
Hawkins, Mrs. Jennie L.
Hawkins, Charles B.
Hayes, Miss OUie
Hayes, Miss Rubye
Henderson, Mrs. Annie Lee
Henderson, Richard H.
Henderson, Mrs. Richard H.
Henderson, Mary Margaret
Henley, Mrs. Myrtle H.
Henry, George F., Jr.
Henry, Mrs. George F., Jr.
Herman, Mrs. George
Heustess, C. L.
Heustess, Mrs. C. L.
Hileman, J. W.
Hileman, Mrs. J. W.
Hill, P. G.
Hill, Mrs. P. G.
Holland, George C.
Holland, Mrs. George C.
Hollinger, Von W.
Hollinger, Mrs. Von W.
Holt, Allen N.
Holt, Mrs. Allen N.
Hood, Mrs. S. J.
Home, H. G.
Home, Mrs. H. G.
Home, H. Graydon, Jr.
Horne, Charles A.
Howard, Mrs. Vance
Howe, Dan Charlton
Howe, Mrs. Dan Charlton
Howe, Miss Mary John
Huffstetler, Ashley Cooper
Huffstetler, Miss Elizabeth
Huffstetler, Miss Jennie Meek
Huffstetler, Harold H.
Huffstetler, Mrs. Harold H.
Huffstetler, Miss Cora S.
Huffstetler, Lawrence N.
Huffstetler, Mrs. Lawrence N.
Huffstetler, Alice Ashley
Huffstetler, Parks Reid, III
Hunnicutt, Mrs. Richard
Hunter, John Allen, Jr.
Hunter, Mrs. John Allen, Jr.
Hull, Mrs. F. Irvin
Hunter, Miss Nancy White
Hunter, W. Eugene
Hunter, Mrs. W. Eugene
Hutchinson, Mrs. Edwin
Jackson, Miss Bess P.
Jackson, Miss Edith
Jackson, Mrs. Earl E.
Jackson, Earl E., Jr.
Jackson, Mrs. Herbert C.
Jackson, James G.
Jackson, Mrs. James G.
Jackson, James G., Jr.
Jackson, Miss Mary C.
Jackson, Judith Phylis
Jackson, Samuel Philip
Jackson, Mrs. Robert A.
Jackson, Robert N.
Jackson, Mrs. Robert N.
Jarman, Mrs. William H.
Jarman, William H., Jr.
Jarman, Richard Rankin
Johnson, Robert E.
Jonhson, Mrs. Robert E.
Johnston, Rufus M.
Johnston, Mrs. Rufus M.
Johnston, Mrs. Rufus M., Jr.
Johnston, R. Manfred, III
Johnston, Mrs. R. Manfred, III
Johnstone, Amos C.
Johnstone, Mrs. Amos C.
Jones, Mrs. Lawrence G.
Jones, Dr. William M.
Jones, W. McConnell, Jr.
Kale, A. A.
Kale, Mrs. A. A.
Kale, Mary B.
Kaneer, Mrs. Minnie
Kaneer, Miss Aline
Keigley, Mrs. William
Kelly, R. J.
Kelly, Mrs. R. J.
Kelly, Richard Y.
Kelly, Roy W.
Kelly, Mrs. Roy W.
Kelly, Margaret Ann
Kelly, Roy William, Jr.
Kendrick, C. Leonard
Kendrick, Mrs. C. Leonard
Kendrick, J. L.
Kendrick, Mrs. J. L.
Kendrick, Mrs. Ralph
Kendrick, Miss Emily
Kendrick, Ralph, Jr.
Kendrick, Mrs. Ralph, Jr.
Kendrick, Priscilla Ann
Kessell, Frederick Charles
Kimbrell, C. C.
Kimbrell, Mrs. C. C.
Kimbrell, Mrs. Duke
Kincaid, Mrs. Gordon
Kincaid, Paul P.
Kincaid, Mrs. Paul P.
Kincaid, Paul P., Jr.
Kincaid, Mrs. Paul P., Jr.
Kindley, Samuel A.
Kindley, Mrs. Samuel A.
Kindley, S. Glenn
King, Mrs. Allen
King, Allen Grady, Jr.
Kluttz, Mrs. Walter A.
Kluttz, Walter Albert, Jr.
Kluttz, Mrs. Walter Albert, Jr.
Kluttz, Jo Ann
Kokiko, Mrs. George Victor
Kreutzer, Mrs. Hilde
Kiser, Mrs. Harry
LaFar, D. R., Jr.
LaFar, Mrs. D. R., Jr.
LaFar, Dan Senn
LaFar, Mrs. Dan Senn
LaFar, Dan Senn, Jr.
LaFar, David R., Ill
LaFar, Mrs. David R., Ill
Land, Miss Sadie
Lanham, Douglas Spencer Owen
Lattimore, Mrs. Louie
Lawson, W. D., Jr.
Lawson, W. D., Ill
Lawson, Mrs. W. D., Ill
Leavitt, Mrs. T. E.
Leech, John M.
Leech, Mrs. John M.
Leeper, Mrs. W. E.
Leeper, Dr. W. E., Jr.
Leeper, Mrs. W. E., Jr.
Lewis, George R.
Lewis, L. L., Jr.
Lewis, Mrs. L. L., Jr.
Lewis, Leland L., Ill
Lewis, Robert F.
Lewis, Mrs. Robert F.
Lewis. Robert F., Jr.
Lindsay, J. E.
Lindsay, James E., II
Lindsay, Mrs. James E., II
Lindsay, James E., Ill
Lineberger, H. Price
Lineberger, Mrs. H. Price
Lineberger, Martha Ann
Lineberger, Miss Mildred
Linker, W. W.
Linker, Mrs. W. W.
Loftin, Charles L, Jr.
Loftin, Mrs. Charles I., Jr.
Loftin, Charles I., Ill
Loftin, David Highsmith
Loftin, Mrs. Wallace
Loggins, Charles D.
Loggins, Mrs. Charles D.
Love, W. Thomas, Jr.
Lowie, E. L.
Lowie, Mrs. E. L.
Lynn, Mrs. Ray
Lytle, Fred S.
Lytic, Mrs. Fred S.
Lyerly, Mrs. William R.
Mackie, Mrs. H. S.
Mackie, Myra Beth
Mackorell, T. M.
Mackorell, Mrs. T. M.
Mackorell, James M.
Mackorell, Mrs. James M.
Mackorell, David Cook
Mando, A. C.
Mando, Mrs. A. C.
Martin, Don A.
Martin, Mrs. Don A.
Marvin, Mrs. Ned I.
Marvin, Richard Morris
Marvin, David Rhyne
Mason, John Craig, Jr.
Mason, Mrs. John Craig, Jr.
Mason, John Craig, III
Mason, Mrs. John Craig, III
Mason, Mrs. Mary W.
Matthews, Mrs. Frank
Matthews, Mrs. J. H.
Matthews, Miss Elizabeth
Matthews, J. Houston, Jr.
Matthews, Mrs. J. Houston, Jr.
Matthews, J. Houston, III
Maiers, Paul R.
Maiers, Mrs. Paul R.
Maiers, Paul R., Jr.
Maiers, Patricia Anne
Meek, James Albert
Meek, Mrs. James Albert
Meek, Virginia Arlena
Medlin, Mrs. A. C.
Melvin, Adam J.
Melvin, Mrs. Adam J.
Melvin, Mrs. Bruce
Melvin, J. A., Jr.
Melvin, Mrs. J. A., Jr.
Miller, Mrs. Jasper
Miller, Dr. George R.
Miller, Mrs. George R.
Milmow, Mrs. Bertie
Minges, Gene M.
Minges, Mrs. Gene M.
Minges, Gene Monroe, Jr.
Minges, J. Roger
Moffett, Mrs. Harry M.
Moffett, Margaret N.
Moffett, Harry M., Ill
Moore, Mrs. Carl M.
Molen, Frank B.
Molen, Mrs. Frank B.
Moore, Garland V.
Moore, Mrs. Garland V.
Moore, Eobert D.
Moore, Mrs. Robert D.
Moore, R. Dunreath, Jr. (Don)
Morris, J. Theodore
Morris, Mrs. J. Theodore
Morris, Mrs. M. T.
Morris, William Stephen
Morris, Mrs. William Stephen
Morrison, S. Emmett
Morrison, Mrs. S. Emmett
Morrow, J. Ben
Morrow, Mrs. Norman
Morrow, Norman W., Jr.
Morrow, Mrs. Norman W., Jr.
Morrow, Norman Patrick
Moss, Charles A.
Moss, Mrs. Charles A.
Moss, Fred M.
Moss, Mrs. Fred M.
Moss, Fred M., Jr.
Moss, Mrs. Fred M., Jr.
Moss, Mary Esther
Moton, Miss Ola
Mukenfuss, Mrs. Alberta
Mullis, Frederick Arnold
Mullis, Mrs. Frederick Arnold
Mundy, William J.
Mundy, Mrs. William J.
Mundy, Jacelyn Bonita
Murdock, Calvin J.
Murdock, Mrs. Calvin
McArver, Paul J.
McArver, Mrs. Paul J.
McCarter, Mrs. Grady Lee
McCarter, Reid A.
McCarter, Gloria Jean
McCarter, Mrs. Robert W.
McCarter, R. William, Jr.
McCluney, Richard C.
McCluney, Mrs. Richard C.
McCluney, Rebecca Ann
McConnaughey, William Joseph
McConnaughey, Mrs. William J.
McConnell, Dr. H. R.
McConnell, Mrs. H. R.
McGerrigle, J. R.
McGerrigle, Mrs. J. R.
McKay, Mrs. Samuel
McKee, W. B.
McKee, Mrs. W. B.
McKee, Mrs. William
McLaughen, George F.
McLa.ughen, Mrs. George F.
McLean, J. D.
McLean, Mrs. J. D.
McLean, Myra Rose
McLean. Leon Leslie
McLean, Mrs. Leon Leslie
McLean, L. Leslie, Jr.
McLean, Robert Edgar
McLean, Mrs. Robert Edgar
McLean, Ruth Adams
McLean, Robert Edgar, Jr.
McLean, Mrs. Robert Edgar, Jr.
McLean, Mrs. R. C.
McNair, J. E.
McNair, Mrs. J. E.
McRainey, J. T., Jr.
McRainey, Mrs. J. T., Jr.
Norris, J. Rufus
Morris, Mrs. J. Rufus
Norris, James R., Jr.
Ormand, James F.
Ormand, Mrs. James F.
Owen, Mrs. Clint
Owen, William E.
Owen, Mrs. William E.
Owen, W. Donald
Owen, Douglas W.
Owens, J. C, Jr.
Owens, Mrs. J. C, Jr.
Padgett, Mrs. Ralph
Parks, John W.
Parks, Mrs. John W.
Parks, John W., Jr.
Patrick, Mrs. L. N.
Patrick, L. Neale, Jr.
Patrick, Mrs. L. Neale, Jr.
Patrick, William Henry
Patrick, Mrs. William Henry
Patrick, Robert W.
Patrick, Dr. William M.
Patrick, Mrs. William M.
Patsch, A. V.
Patsch, Mrs. A. V.
Patterson, Mrs. E. L.
Patterson, George V.
Patterson, J. G.
Patterson, Mrs. J. G.
Patterson, J. G., Jr.
Patton, Clyde W.
Patton, Mrs. Clyde W.
Patton, Mrs. Glenn
Patton, Mrs. Mabel D.
Pate, John L.
Pate, Mrs. John L.
Payne, Jacob A.
Payne, Mrs. Jacob A.
Peach, Otis L.
Peach, Mrs. Otis L.
Peach, Otis Lamar, Jr.
Peach, Mary Dee
Peach, William Burgess
Peden, John C.
Peden, Mrs. John C.
Peden, Vicky Sue
Peden, Nancy Clara
Pegram, Miss Jennie McD.
Petrey, Ernest Q.
Petrey, Mrs. Ernest Q.
Petrey, E. Quinn, Jr.
Petrey, Martha Kate
Petty, Mrs. Britt
Petty, Mrs. Larry
Porter, Mrs. Faye A.
Price, Willis A.
Price, Mrs. Willis A.
Query, Mrs. Hugh A.
Query, J. Sam
Query, Mrs. J. Sam
Query, James Samuel, Jr.
Quinn, Miss Eulalie
Ragan, Mrs. Caldwell
Ragan, Caldwell, Jr.
Ragan, Robert Allison
Ragan, Dan C.
Ragan, Mrs. Dan C.
Ragan, Daniel Pierce
Ragan, Mrs. Daniel Pierce
Ragan, Daniel P., Jr.
Ragan, Mrs. Daniel P., Jr.
Ragan, Nancy Gale
Ragan, Jenny Elizabeth
Ragan, George W.
Ragan, Mrs. George W.
Ragan, George W., Jr.
Ragan, J. Alonzo
Ragan, Mrs. Wilson
Ragan, Donna Alice
Ragan, Mary Anne
Ramsaur, Mrs. Jackson
Ramsaur, Dixon Byrd
Ramsaur, Benjamin Draughon
Ramsey, Thomas D.
Ramsey, Mrs. Thomas D.
Ramsey, David Ellis
Rankin, Miss A. Lucille
Rankin, Clinton P.
Rankin, Mrs. Clinton P.
Rankin, Clinton P., Jr.
Rankin, James Robert
Rankin, Mrs. James Robert
Rankin, James Robert, Jr.
Rankin, Miss Lula
Rankin, Mrs. Robert Wray
Rankin, Robert Wray, Jr.
Rankin, Vivian P.
Rankin, Mrs. Vivian P.
Rankin, Mrs. W. Theodore
Ratchford, Fred A.
Ratchford, Mrs. Fred A.
Ratchford, Fred Anderson, Jr.
Ratchford, Fred H.
Ratchford, Mrs. Fred H.
Ratchford, Bonnie Kay
Ratchford, G. Rufus
Ratchford, Mrs. G. Rufus
Ratchford, Jane Henry
Ratchford, J. Ross
Ratchford, Mrs. J. Ross
Ratchford, Miss Ollie
Ratchford, Mrs. Thomas D.
Ray, Miss Dorothy J.
Reichel, Earl W.
Reichel, Mrs. Earl W.
Reid, James W., Jr.
Reid, Mrs. James W., Jr.
Reid, Martin Shuford
Reid, Mrs. Martin Shuford
Rhodes, Mrs. Joseph
Rhyne, Mrs. Coit E.
Rhyne, Dane S.
Rhyne, Mrs. Dane S.
Rhyne, D. Sam, Jr.
Rhyne, Mrs. D. Sam, Jr.
Rhyne, Deborah Ann
Rhyne, Fred S.
Rhyne, Mrs. Fred S.
Rhyne, John Albert
Rhyne, Mrs. John Albert
Rhyne, Julius Ray
Rhyne, Mrs. Julius Ray
Rhyne, Miss Leila
Rhyne, Mrs. Walter G.
Rice, Miss Ruth
Riddle, Mrs. Fred D.
Riddle, Fred D., Jr.
Riddle, Vivian John
Riddle, Mrs. George
Riddle, Dr. Harry
Riddle, Mrs. Harry
Riddle, Joseph Saye
Riddle, Mrs. Joseph Saye
Riddle, Robert Saye
Riley, Mrs. Elise (John)
Roberts, Frank McK.
Roberts, Mrs. Frank McK.
Roberts, Dr. W. M.
Roberts, Mrs. W. M.
Robertson, Fred, Jr.
Robertson, Mrs. Fred, Jr.
Robertson, W. H.
Robertson, Mrs. W. H.
Robinson, Alfred S.
Robinson, Mrs. Alfred S.
Robinson, Mrs. Charles M.
Robinson, Mrs. J. Lee, Sr.
Robinson, Mrs. John C.
Robinson, Mrs. Kelly
Robinson, Annie May
Robinson, Mrs. Marvin
Robinson, Lewis Kelly
Robinson, Katherine Elizabeth
Robinson, Ralph Smyre
Robinson, Mrs. Ralph Smyre
Robinson, Ralph Smyre, Jr.
Robinson, Mrs. Ralph Smyre, Jr.
Robinson, Mrs. William Lee
Rockett, Mrs. Glenn W.
Rogers, Mrs. Harry
Rogers, Stephen Allen
Rollins, Max D.
Rollins, Mrs. Max D.
Rosebro, Robert N.
Rosebro, Mrs. Robert N.
Rosebro, Robert N., Jr.
Ross, Mrs. Vernon
Rudisill, Jack W.
Rudisill, Mrs. Jack W.
Rudisill, Robert Wilson
Rudisill, Jack W., Jr.
Rudisill, Mrs. Jack W., Jr.
Rutter, Mrs. Harry
Sanford, Mrs. Andrew
Schenck, Mrs. M. E.
Searcy, Mrs. Alvin
Shive, L. J.
Shive, Mrs. L. J.
Shive, Mrs. Verne
Shuford, Mrs. Boyce
Sifford, W. A.
Siler, R. P.
Siler, Mrs. R. P.
Simpson, J. E.
Simpson, Ralph H.
Sinclair, R. Frank
Sinclair, G. R.
Sinclair, Mrs. G. R.
Sinclair, Sandra Cecelia
Smith, B. E.
Smith, Mrs. B. E.
Smith, Mrs. Frank
Smith, Harold L.
Smith, Mrs. Harold L.
Smyre, Mrs. Fred L., Sr.
Smyre, Fred L., Jr.
Smyre, Mrs. Fred L., Jr.
Smyre, Frederick L., Ill
Spake, Mrs. I. W.
Sparrow, William R.
Sparrow, Mrs. William R.
Spencer, Arthur M.
Spencer, Mrs. Arthur M.
Spencer, Arthur M., Jr.
Spencer, Mrs. Arthur M., Jr.
Spencer, Arthur M., Ill
Spencer, Florence Penelope
Spencer, Mrs. Gray H.
Spencer, Roscoe S.
Sprouse, Arthur W.
Sprouse, Mrs. Arthur W.
Spurrier, Mrs. Fred M.
Spurrier, Powell Henry, Jr.
Starnes, Blake Boyd
Starnes, Suzanne Janet
Starnes, Clarke R.
Starnes, Mrs. Clarke R.
Starnes, Donna Alice
Starnes, Mrs. Louise B.
Stewart, Sam M.
Stewart, Mrs. Sam M.
Stewart, James Samuel
Stewart, Thomas Alexander
Stowe, Miss Hattie
Stowe, S. A.
Stowe, Mrs. S. A.
Stowe, June Carroll
Strange, Consandra Kay
Sudduth, A. L.
Sudduth, Mrs. A. L.
Sudduth, A. L., Jr.
Sudduth, Mrs. A. L., Jr.
Sudduth, Alvin L., Ill
Summerell, Mrs. J. N.
Summerell, Ann Mitchell
Summerell, Julia Wainwright
Swiggett, Jackson W.
Swiggett, Mrs. Jackson W.
Talley, Miss Betty Jo
Talley, Billie Ann
Talley, Robert H.
Talley, Mrs. Robert H.
Talley, Mrs. J. Russell
Talley, John R., Jr.
Talley, Louie Daniel
Talley, Thomas Michael
Talley, William T.
Talley, Mrs. William T.
Tallman, Charles V.
Tallman, Mrs. Charles V.
Tallman, Arthur Vaughn
Taylor, Miss Eubank
Taylor, Mrs. J. Caswell
Taylor, J. Caswell, Jr.
Taylor, Jackson W.
Taylor, Mrs. Jackson W.
Taylor, Mrs. James L.
Taylor, James L., Jr.
Taylor, Alice Caldwell
Templeton, Mrs. Elm^r
Thomas, C. G.
Thomas, Mrs. C. G.
Thomas, Mrs. Elmore
Thomas, Dorothy Jennifer
Thompson, Mrs. Charles
Thompson, J. Henry
Thompson, Mrs. J. Henry
Thompson, Joseph H., Jr.
Thompson, Mary Bradley
Thompson, J. Landon
Thompson, Mrs. J. Landon
Thompson, P. H.
Thomson, Mrs. J. F.
Tomlin, William H.
Toomey, R. G.
Toomey, Mrs. R. G.
Torrence, Charlton K.
Torrence, Mrs. Charlton K.
Torrence, Jean Marie
Torrence, Charlton K., Jr.
Torrence, Mrs. Charlton K., Jr.
Tull, Samuel A.
Tull, Mrs. Samuel A.
Tull, Gene Ann
Tull, Susan Thomas
Thaler, Charles M.
Thaler, Mrs. Charles M.
Underwood, E. Raymond
Underwood, Mrs. E. Raymond
Underwood, E. Raymond, Jr.
Underwood, Mrs. E. Raymond, Jr.
Underwood, John McElroy
Upchurch, Mrs. Fred
Upchurch, Fred, Jr.
Upchurch, Mrs. Helen
Van Dyke, Irvin R.
Van Dyke, Mrs. Irvin R.
Van Dyke, Mary Matilda
Van Sleen, Albert
Van Sleen, Mrs. Albert
Van Sleen, William Albert
Van Sleen, H. M.
Van Sleen, Mrs. H. M.
Ward, 0. L.
Ward, Mrs. 0. L.
Warren, Ernest R.
Warren, O. A.
Warren, Mrs. 0. A.
Warren, Roy P.
Warren, Mrs. Roy P.
Warren, Roy Payton, Jr.
Warren, Mrs. W. Y.
Warren, W. Y., Jr.
Watkins, Robert Todd
Watkins, Mrs. Robert Todd
Watson, Miss Jennie Craig
Watson, Thomas Craig
Watson, Mrs. Thomas Craig
Watson, Thomas Craig, Jr.
Watts, Mrs. F. W.
Weber, Mrs. Carl
Wetzell, Charles A.
Wetzell, Mrs. Charles A.
Wetzell, Martha Binns
Wetzell, W. L.
Wetzell, Mrs. W. L.
Wetzell, W. L., Jr.
Wetzell, Mrs. W. L., Jr.
Wetzell, William L., Ill
Wetzell, Frederick Scott
Wetzell, Nancy Clare
Whisnant, Mrs. Howard
Whisnant, William P.
White, Mrs. OUie
Whitesides, Mrs. M. T
Whitesides, T. P.
Willcox, J. A.
Willcox, Mrs. J. A.
Willcox, J. A., Jr.
Willcox, Mrs. J. A., Jr.
Willcox, Mary Anthony
Wilkins, John A.
Wilkins, Mrs. John A.
Wilkins, Donald M.
Wilkins, John A., Jr.
Wilkinson, Ted A.
Wilkinson, Mrs. Ted A.
Williams, Clarence F., Jr.
Williams, Mrs. Clarence F.,
Williams, Dr. E. C.
Williams, Mrs. E. C.
Williams, Phillip R.
Williams, Mrs. Philip R.
Wyss, Lawrence Leslie
Wyss, Mrs. Lawrence Leslie
Wyss, L. Kirk
Williford, Quay D.
Williford, Wade H.
Williford, Mrs. Wade H.
Williford, Wade, III
Williford, Quay D., Ill
Wilson, A. W.
Wilson, Mrs. A. W.
Wilson, Miss Jenny Lee
Wilson, Miss Pearl
Wilson, Miss Essie
Wilson, Mrs. Thomas Lee
Wilson, Dr. W. Dan
Wilson, Mrs. W. Dan
Wilson, W. Leonard
Wilson, Mrs. W. Leonard
Winget, H. Gilmer
Winget, Mrs. H. Gilmer
Winget, Mrs. J. Sidney
Winget, Mrs. Knox
Winget, Virginia Boger
Winget, Margaret W.
Woody, Dr. M. E., Jr.
Woody, Mrs. M. E., Jr.
Woody, Frances Elizabeth
Woody, Dr. W. L.
Woody, Mrs. W. L.
Woody, Ann Victoria
Woody, William Lewis, Jr.
Workman, James Meek
Yarbrough, Mrs. David
Yarbrough, Doris Ann
Yarbrough, Norma Jean
York, Mrs. Edward
Zeigler, Charles B.
Zeigler, Mrs. Charles B.
Zeigler, Charles E.
Zeigler, Mrs. Charles E.
Zeigler, Charles E., Jr.
Zeigler, Virginia Jeanne
Zeigler, Branson E.
Zeigler, Mrs. Branson E.
Zeigler, Charles Lawrence
Zeigler, Vickie Beth
Zirkle, Don D.
Zirkle, Mrs. Don D.
FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
Gastonia, N. C.
OCTOBER 17. 1961
Apperson, H. Eugene
Amos, Howard S.
Amos, Mrs. Howard S.
Amos, Mary Hugh
Dickinson, Mrs. Gary W.
Dozier, E. N., Jr.
Ford, Mrs. Peter
(Sue Foster Gettys)
Grier, Mr. and Mrs. Harry G., Jr.
Haynes, Mrs. John Elliott
(Ann S. Falls)
Hill, Lt. Robert G.
Hinson, Mrs. Garnett Nelson
Jolly, Mrs. William Oscar, III
Jones, Mrs. Walter L.
Jordan, Harvie C.
Jordan, Mrs. Harvie C.
Jordan, David Davoe
Jordan, Mary Jane
Love, Samuel DeDonda
Love, Mrs. Samuel DeRonda
Love, Samuel DeRonda, Jr.
Maloney, Mrs. Eugene (Peggy Harper)
Martin, Mrs. David (Ann Siler)
Melvin, Andrew Shaw
Merriman, Mrs. W. W., Ill
Martorano, Mrs. Richard J.
Monges, Robert H.
Moore, Mrs. T. A., Jr.
(Mary Lee LaFar)
Moorhead, George Doyle
Miles, John Wesley
Miles, Mrs. John Wesley
McCluney, R. C, Jr.
Patton, Mr. and Mrs. Henry C.
Roberts, Mr. and Mrs. William Stewart
Robinson, Mrs. James
Rankin, Wylie T., Ill
Smith, Mrs. Frank, Jr.
Smith, Miss Laura
Siner, Mrs. Joel L.
Toomey, Richard G., Jr.
Williams, Miss Carol
FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
Gastonia, N. C.
OCTOBER 17, 1961
Cappell, Mrs. Margaret
Cherry, Wm. D.
Childers, Mrs. W. E.
Cleere, Mrs. Ray
Colbert, Mrs. Sarah N.
Crowe, Mrs. Ted
Boyes, Mrs. Calvin
Dant, Mrs. Wm.
Deese, Mrs. Marvin
Dickson, Mrs. Tommie
Gruenhut, Mrs. Werner Kirt
Jackson, Mrs. Eugene
Johnstone, Amos C, Jr.
Jones, Mrs. Shirley
Jones, Mrs. Walter
Jones, Arthur C, Jr.
Logan, Mrs. H. K.
Mackorell, Mrs. James
Maines, Mrs. Joseph
Miefert, Mrs. M. D., Jr.
Mrs. Joseph P. Miele
Moore, Mrs. Thomas O., Jr.
McNair, J. E., Jr.
McNair, Mrs. J. E., Jr.
Philhower, R. H.
Rankin, John O., Jr.
Robinson, J. Lee, Jr.
Smith, Mrs. Herbert
Tucker, Mrs. R. H.
Wiggins, Mr. James M.
Wiggins, Mrs. James M.
Wiggins, Miss Sandra Lee
STAFF OF FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
OCTOBER 25, 1961
Dr. Harry M. Moffett, Minister
Dr. J. N. Brown, Associate Minister
Miss Eubank Taylor, Director Christian Education
Mrs. Roy P. Warren, Director of Music
Mrs. Ralph W. Armstrong, Organist
Miss Bess P. Jackson, Church Secretary
Mrs. Woodrow Morris, Minister's Secretary
Mrs. E. L. Patterson, Bookkeeper
Mrs. Dane S. Rhyne, Church Hostess
Mr. and Mrs. Morris Paysour, Sextons
Mr. James Cloud, Sexton
Mr. Will Hewitt, Sexton
Harry M. Moffett, J. N. Brown, Ministers
Fred A. Ratchford, Clerk
CLASS OF 1963
M. R. Adams
J. E. Brison
Ralph H. Falls
R. A. Gordon
C. C. Kimbrell
Fred A. Ratchford
Ralph S. Robinson
W. R. Sparrow
W. L. Wetzell, Jr.
J. L. Kendrick
T. J. Abernathy
W. A. Daniel
B. T. Dickson
R. A. Dickson
CLASS OF 1965
L. G. Alexander
M. T. Cameron
J. Bynum Carter
C. F. Daniel
James Boyce Garland
W. D. Lawson, III
John C. Peden
A. S. Robinson
John A. Wilkins
Harry Rutter L. J. Shive
J. G. Jackson
D. R. LaFar
Fred M. Moss
CLASS OF 1967
Robert L. Adams
K. A. Bowen
Dr. Stuart Gibbs
Fred H. Ratchford
C. K. Torrence, Sr.
Charles A. Wetzell
H. G. Winget
J. R. McGerrigle
D. S. Rhyne
F. L. Smyre, Jr.
Quay D. Williford
BOARD OF DEACONS
T. Craig Watson, Chairman
M. T. Cameron, Treasurer
John M. Akers, Vice Chairman
J. Landon Thompson, Secretary
CLASS OF 1963
A. G. Bell
Dr. B. T. Dickson, Jr.
Roy W. Kelly
Dan S. LaFar
W. D. Lawson
C. I. Loftin, Jr.
Dr. W. M. Patrick
Dr. W. L. Woody
CLASS OF 1965
Dr. Ben M. Drake
Peter W. Garland
J. A. Hannon
T. M. Mackorell
J. E. McNair
J. R. Norris
J. F. Ormand
L. Neale Patrick
T. Craig Watson
CLASS OF 1967
John M. Akers
Joe L. Barnett
Dr. W. W. Dickson
Jno. C. Mason, III
Jas. A. Meek
J. Sam Query
Ralph S. Robinson, Jr.
Robert N. Rosebro
C. K. Torrence, Jr.
Congregational Leadership In Kings Mountain Presbytery
J. Bynum Carter Member of the Christian Education Committee
W. A. Daniel Member of the Church Extension Committee
P. W. Garland Member of the Stewardship Committee
J. R. McGerrigle Member of Presbytery's Council
Mrs. H. A. Query Presbyterial President
Mrs. J. N. Brown Presbyterial Recording Secretary
Mrs. R. W. McCarter Presbyterial Chairman of Church Extension
Mrs. Fred M. Moss Presbyterial Chairman of White Cross
Dr. and Mrs. Langdon Henderlite Brazil
Rev. and Mrs. J. Kemp Hobson Africa
Rev. and Mrs. J. A. McAlpine Japan
Rev. and Mrs. C. G. Durham Korea
Rev. and Mrs. A. T. Trimble, Jr Taiwan
OCTOBER 1, 1961
WOMEN OF THE CHURCH
Gastonia, N. C.
OFFICERS — 1961-1962
President Mrs. W. L. Wetzell, Jr.
First Vice President Mrs. E. L. Patterson
Second Vice President Mrs. James Boyce Garland
Secretary Mrs. J. N. Brown
Treasurer Mrs. Fred Upchurch
Historian Mrs. T. J. Abernathy
Spiritual Growth Mrs. Harry Cobb
Christian Education Mrs. Landon Thompson
Stewardship Mrs. Vance Howard
Church Extension Mrs. F. A. Cathey, Jr.
World Missions Mrs. Branson Zeigler
Annuities and Relief Mrs. R. 0. Crawford
General Fund Agencies Mrs. H. S. Mackie
Inter-Group Work Mrs. Verne Shive
Pastor's Aid Mrs. W. R. Sparrow
Finance Mrs. W. Y. Gardner
MORNING CIRCLE CHAIRMEN
No. 1— Mrs. Hubert Belk No. 6— Mrs. Harry M. Moffett
No. 2 — Mrs. Alfred Robinson No. 7 — Mrs. C. K. Torrence, Jr.
No. 3 — Mrs. Ben Drake No. 8 — Mrs. T. D. Ramsey
No. 4 — Mrs. Tom Fearrington No. 9 — Mrs. Wade Williford
No. 5 — Mrs. James L. Taylor 10 — Mrs. George Ragan
AFTERNOON CIRCLE CHAIRMEN
No. 11— Mrs. L. N. Patrick No. 13 — Mrs. M. R. Adams
No. 12— Mrs. 0. D. Boyce No. 14— Mrs. J. R. Norris
No. 15 — Mrs. Lee Dixon
NIGHT CIRCLE CHAIRMEN
No. 16 — Mrs. Myrtle Henley No. 20— Mrs. John Harris
No. 17 — Mrs. Melvin Burns Mrs. W. G. Forrest
No. 18— Mrs. S. J. Brown (Co-Chairmen)
No. 19— Mrs. Emily Bennett No. 21— Mrs. Joe Harrill
No. 22— Mrs. H. W. Kiser
No. 23— Mrs. Robert Barnhill
Div.S. 285.1756773 D184 F527 1961
. First Pre sbyterian Church n f
"nFM— gjg, t onia , N.C .
DURHAM, NORTH CAROLINA
Duke University Libraries